Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free: Kronk Inspired Spinach Puffs

gahigf

September’s Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free challenge is “Disney Inspired Food” hosted by Gluten Free Gidget. Initially, I didn’t know what I should do, but when I started thinking about my favourite Disney Movie “The Emperor’s New Groove” immediately came to mind. And what does that mean? Spinach Puffs!

I thus then perused the interwebs for recipes, but didn’t quite find any to my liking, so I made my own based on a few of the of recipes I found.

Spinach Puffs ala Kronk from the Emperor’s Groove

GF Pastry Mix for one crust, rolled between two pieces of wax paper, 1/4″ thick in as rectangular as you can

1 pkg cream cheese, softened
3 eggs
1/4 onion, chopped
2-3+ cups of fresh spinach, chopped
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/2 c. feta cheese, crumbled
1/2 c. grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 c. grated cheddar cheese
Salt and pepper to taste

  1. Beat cream cheese until fluffy in a mixer.
  2. Add eggs one at a time until beaten in.
  3. Add all cheeses, spinach and salt and pepper and mix on low speed until just barely incorporated.
  4. Spoon filling onto pastry on one side, then roll over and pinch ends together.
  5. Cut roll into ~1″ thick strips and carefully lift onto a greased cookie sheet. Note: I did end up having a lot of filling left over. It is quite tasty when spooned into muffin tins and baked until slightly browned.
  6. Cook at 350F for about 20 minutes or until edges are nicely golden brown.
  7. Enjoy!

DSC_2123

DSC_2126

They’re not quite as triangle-y as Kronk’s, but unlike Yzma I do like his spinach puffs.

What is your favourite Disney movie?

10 Comments

Filed under Food

10 responses to “Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free: Kronk Inspired Spinach Puffs

  1. becausetheygrow

    Most definitely Emp New Groove. I LOVE that movie! Izma is awesome, lol.

  2. Michelle

    That’s awesome! But how could you narrow it down to just one favourite Disney movie?! Actually, I think it would have to be Dead Man’s Chest…but New Groove is up there for Disney cartoon faves. 🙂

  3. I’m more of a classic kinda girl, my fave is Cinderella

  4. I am with Melissa – I love Cinderella and Beauty and The Beast is a close second.

  5. Yum! I love the sound of these spinach puffs! Love the idea of basing food off of Disney =D as well.

  6. Too many favorite Disney movies to name a favorite!

    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest!

    http://www.daysofwhineandnoses.blogspot.com/

  7. Kelly

    This looks so good! I just read this to my husband and I think we’re going to try to make it this week!

  8. I am loving this idea! I will definitely be trying it! Thanks!

  9. These look so delicious! I want to make them, too … or come over to your house the next time that you do. 😉

    Shirley

  10. KJ

    We watched that movie this week and that’s what made me want to make spinach puffs! Thanks for posting 🙂

Leave a comment