Gluten Free Peach Pastry

Peach Pastry-2

This is one of the recipes that I can’t believe that I haven’t shared as it’s been a summer staple and favourite in my family growing up. My mom would peel the peaches and assemble the pastry as we all waited in eager anticipation of what was coming. Needless to say that peach pastry never lasted long in our house.

It was only until Mr Bean made a comment that I realized not everyone peeled the skin off the peaches before eating them ever. Now I rarely do so – many for convenience, but it’s definitely worth the extra time for this recipe!

Peach Pastry-4

It’s a fairly simple and forgiving recipe: create a shortbread crust, put halved peaches on it, bake it, pour the sour cream custard around peaches and bake some more.

The original recipe was made with sour cream and butter, but I used goat yoghurt and goat butter to make it more friendly towards me. I know in the past I have used dairy free margarine for the crust and I imagine that unsweetened dairy free greek style yoghurt would work to make it dairy free. I don’t think that the egg can be replaced and have a similar texture.

You could use canned peaches if desired, but bake the crust by itself first. Adjust sugar levels depending on whether peaches are sweetened or not.

Peach Pastry-1

Gluten and Cow Dairy Free Peach Pastry

1 c. Gluten Free Flour Blend (I used Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose GF Flour)
1/2 tsp. xanthan gum
1/4 c. goats butter (or regular butter or butter substitute)
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. baking powder
2 tbsp. sugar

3/4 c. goat yoghurt (original recipe calls for sour cream)
1 tsp. lemon juice (don’t add if using sour cream)
1 egg, beaten
<1/4 c. sugar

5 peaches, skinned and halved (You’ll only need 4 1/2 peaches)
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. sugar (optional)

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Mix flour, xathan gum, salt, baking powder and sugar in a bowl. Cut in butter using a pastry blender or your hands.
  3. Press into a 8″ x 8″ or 9″ x 9″ pan. Arrange 9 peach halves on top of pastry. Sprinkle on cinnamon and sugar.
  4. Bake pastry and peaches in oven for 15 minutes.
  5. Meanwhile, mix together the yoghurt, lemon juice, egg and sugar.
  6. Remove pan from oven and pour yoghurt mixture around the peach halves.
  7. Return to oven and bake for 30 min or until the yoghurt mixture is starting to brown and crack slightly.
  8. Cool before serving.
  9. Enjoy!

Peach Pastry-3

Do you peel peaches before eating them?

2 Comments

Filed under Baking

2 responses to “Gluten Free Peach Pastry

  1. cravethecookbook

    Looks so good! And the recipe seems very adaptable too. It is peach season here so i just might have to give this one a try! Thanks for sharing

  2. We only have canned peaches here… I have never tried fresh peaches ever! Haha this recipe looks easy and yummy! I hope to be able to try it someday….

Leave a comment