Quinoa Coconut Cookies (Top 12 Free)

I wanted to make some cookies to help me enjoy life despite being so restricted on the elimination diet I am currently on. I decided to adapt my Gluten Free Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookies to see if they would work and thankfully they did!

I made them one time without gums and they were tasty but very crumbly. Then after some research, I learned that you can use psyllium husk as a substitute for gums and this batch stuck together much better. I forgot to get true psyllium husk from the store, so I just opened my husband’s fiber capsules, which are pure psyllium powder. (Apparently, I’m a fan of use what you got on hand!)

Top 12 Free Quinoa Coconut Cookies

1/2 c. millet flour
1/2 c. sorghum flour
1/4 c. light buckwheat flour
1/4 c. potato starch
1/4 c. tapioca starch
1/2 tsp. psyllium husk
1 1/2 c. quinoa flakes
1 1/2 c. coarsely shredded coconut (or mixture of medium and flakes)
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 c. raisins
1/3 c. + 2 tbsp. canola or light olive oil
1/2 c. sunflower butter (125 g)
3/4 c. white sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. hemp milk (literally just hemp hearts blended with water)
2 tsp. vanilla extract

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and line two cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Mix together flours, psyllium husk, quinoa, coconut baking powder, salt and raisins.
  3. Cream together oil, sunflower butter and sugars.
  4. Add milk and vanilla and beat until smooth.
  5. Add wet ingredients into the dry and mix until smooth. The batter should be somewhat sticky.
  6. Spoon batter onto cookie sheets or if you want to roll batter into balls, place on cookie sheet and squish into disks. Balls should be around golf ball sized.
  7. Bake for about 15-20 minutes or until cookies are slightly browned.
  8. Remove from oven and let sit on sheet for about 5 minutes, then remove to cooling rack.
  9. Enjoy!

Makes 24 – 30 cookies depending on size and how much batter you eat. Cookies do decently in a sealed container on the counter for 2-3 days, but are best stored in the freezer.

My son helped me make and photograph these cookies and he was more than happy to enjoy the fruits of his labour!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking

Leave a comment