Vegan Polenta Pizza

Do you really like pizza? I do. I’m not a pizza fanatic, but I definitely do enjoy eat it – especially when it’s gluten free! Over the last few days I’ve wanted to eat pizza, but normal pizza just wasn’t kosher for my Daniel Fast. (Yeast – nope!, Cheese – definitely not!, Meat – you wish!) When I saw a recipe for vegan polenta pizza, I knew I had to make it as I made a polenta pizza a REALLY long time ago and loved it.

I also had incentive to make pizza as Jessica of ATX Gluten-Free is hosting a Gluten Free Pizza Fest! This vegan pizza is adapted from Terry Walter’s Clean Start cookbook. It was also partially inspired by a GF pizza I had from a hole-in-the-wall place this summer that had pine nuts on it and was surprisingly good. They also add some much needed protein without being too out of place!

Vegan Polenta Pizza

2 c. water
1 tsp. italian seasonings
1 1/2 tbsp. olive oil
1 scant tsp. kosher salt
fresh pepper
3/4 c. cornmeal (you could be good and use actual polenta, but I’m lazy so cornmeal it is!)

1 leek, chopped
4 crimini mushrooms, sliced
1 portabello mushroom, sliced
1 piece of kale, cut into strips
2 – 3 tbsp. pine nuts
1 1/2 tbsp. olive oil
Tomato paste
Fresh parsley
Salt and pepper to taste

  1. Bring the water up to a boil. Add in the seasonings and olive oil.
  2. Whisking constantly, pour cornmeal into water in a steady stream. Continue whisking for 5 – 7 minutes or until the polenta is creamy and thick. Add water if needed – I ended up adding about 1/3 c. more water.
  3. Evenly distribute polenta between two 9″ cake pans. Using a spatula, spread out to about an even thickness.
  4. Let polenta cool slightly, then stick both pans in the fridge for 30 minutes to allow the polenta to solidify.
  5. Heat oven to 350F. Transfer polenta disks onto a baking sheet sprinkled with cornmeal.
  6. Cook in oven for about 40 minutes and remove. Set aside.
  7. While there is about 15-20 minutes left in the baking of the pizza crusts, toast the pine nuts in a frying pan until fragrant.
  8. Heat up olive oil in the same frying pan. Saute the leek in the olive oil for a few minutes.
  9. Add the mushrooms and sauté until cooked.
  10. Add the kale and sauté until bright green.
  11. Spread tomato paste onto polenta crusts, leaving 1/2″ uncovered. Add any spices you want to.
  12. Sprinkle the tomato paste with pine nuts.
  13. Arrange the vegetables on the crust. Make sure you evenly distribute the mushrooms and kale!
  14. Cook pizza in oven for 10 – 15 minutes or until the kale starts toasting.
  15. Sprinkle with salt and plenty of freshly ground pepper.
  16. Enjoy!

What is your favourite type of pizza?

Linked up to Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays, Hearth and Soul Hop-volume 34, Gluten-Free Wednesdays, Real Food Wednesdays, Full Plate Thursdays and Seasonal Sundays.

Hearth n' Soul Blog Hop at A Moderate Life Miz Helen’s Country Cottage

34 Comments

Filed under Food

34 responses to “Vegan Polenta Pizza

  1. That looks fabulous! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I’m not a big pizza eater either but my kids are. This might just satisfy us both.

  2. What an awesome looking pizza! Love all the greens, and the cornmeal idea is brilliant!

  3. ATXglutenfree

    I love this!!! I have never heard of polenta pizza. You’ve got the wheels turning in my head now! Looks delicious. Thanks for linking to me for pizza fest 🙂

  4. This pizza looks great! I have a pizza idea on my blog that you might be interested in- it uses Trader Joe’s Rice Tortillas as the “crust”. It is great for people who like a thin crust like we do. This recipe has meat as part of the topping, but you could use anything that you like! Here’s the link: http://www.andreaskitchen.net/2010/08/easy-gluten-free-pizza-italian-sausage/
    Have a great week!

  5. This looks so good. I love polenta but have never made a pizza out of it – may have to try making a heart-shaped one for V-day! And I love the fact that there’s no dairy – yay!!!

    Also, thanks for visiting my site – hope you enjoy the sweet potato pie if you try it!

  6. I LOVE polenta. Never had it like this, but it looks very, very good. To me, pizza is not pizza without cheese, so I’d have to add that, but I’ll have to try the polenta with your topping choices sometime.

  7. Oh this pizza looks so good! Thanks for the recipe!

  8. This looks like a delicious pizza – healthy and delicious!

  9. This looks delicious! I’m a sucker for the pizza they make at Whole Foods. I love multigrain crust, Daiya “cheese” and some veggies – usually spinach and mushrooms.

  10. Yum! That looks fantastic! I’ve never tried polenta pizza before, but this goes on my list of must tries. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Hi bean! Seriously, I love the internet because when you have an eating restriction, even for a short period of time as you are doing your Daniel Fast, you can find delicious things that still fit your bill! This pizza looks super duper yummy! Trader Joe’s actually makes pre-cooked polenta in a log that you might be able to use for this! Awesome! Thanks so much for sharing it on the hearth and soul hop! All the best! Alex

  12. Polenta Pizza?? This sounds AMAZING!! I cannot wait to try this! And those photos are just gorgeous!

  13. Pingback: Daniel Fast Day 17 | Without Adornment

  14. Your Vegan Polenta Pizza looks so good. Polenta makes a great base for this pizza. I plan on making this for my Vegan Granddaughters…and of course I will have my share. Thank you so much for bringing this to Full Plate Thursday and please come back!

  15. Pingback: The Gluten-Free Pizza Fest 2011 Summary | ATX Gluten-Free

  16. Dana

    I tried this tonight. I had never cooked polenta before. Huge hit with the family. Thanks for the posting!

  17. Pingback: Top 11 Recipes of 2011 | Without Adornment

  18. Pingback: Pizza, Pizza! | Achtung, Pflanzenfresser!

  19. chickymama

    Made this tonight. Everyone loved it. I made a mexican pizza, one with roasted cauliflower and broccoli, another with heirloom tomatoes, and the last with spinach and mushrooms. The “crust” is very versatile. Mine stayed a little too moist on the inside, will cook longer next time.

  20. Thrivalista

    Sounds tasty! Families with corn allergies could substitute ground millet instead of the cornmeal. And if you cook the grain mush in a pressure cooker, there’s no stirring involved after you whisk the corn or millet meal into the boiling water.

  21. Pingback: Vegan Polenta Pizza « Thoughts by Me

  22. Pingback: Turning Popcorn into Polenta. | plantbasedlivin'

  23. Pingback: Popcorn Pizza (A Health Food) | plantbasedlivin'

  24. Pingback: Secret Recipe Club: Polenta Pizza Crust «Anne Jisca's Healthy Pursuits Anne Jisca's Healthy Pursuits

  25. dee dee

    good idea nearly yeast free, mushrooms are full of natural yeast, does anyone have any suggestion what to use instead of mushrooms?

  26. Pingback: 100 Homemade pizza recipe | Rilane - We Aspire to Inspire

  27. Pingback: 5 Delicious Vegetarian Meals: Week #4 | Farm Fresh Family

Leave a comment