Foto Friday: SOOC

Last night in my photography class we went to the University of Calgary campus to take photos. One of the techniques we played with was “painting with light.” So basically we’d all set up our tripods and our instructor would run around firing flashes in various places.

The following photo is straight out of the camera (SOOC) except for being resized in lightroom. This is called the prairie chicken – from another other viewpoint it looks like a bunch of curved metal on weird posts, but you can actually sort of see the chicken with its head, wings and tail feathers from here.

Our instructor suggested the following settings for taking photos while painting with light: ISO 100, exposure time of 30 second and f/5.6 Since the lowest ISO my camera has is 200, I used an aperture of f/8.

Have you ever painted with light?

This photo was entered in this week’s Foto Friday with the theme of straight out of the camera (SOOC).

Household6Diva FotoFriday

16 Comments

Filed under Photography

16 responses to “Foto Friday: SOOC

  1. Deb

    Great photo and sounds like a fun class!

  2. Nice photo! Painting with light sounds like fun.

  3. That is a great shot- what an interesting piece of art.

  4. LOVE your shot this week!!

  5. L.

    Wow–this is such an amazing shot!

  6. Natalie

    Get outta town! That is SOOC! That is awesome. Sounds like a fun project. I’ve been wanting to do some tripod shots in low light lately but just havent had the time! This is really good

  7. I have to agree with Natalie, this is SOOC??? WOW you’ve got mad photo skills. I love your photos, and the nickname? Bean. Love it. Thanks for stopping by my blog and your supportive comments on the military wife network, you don’t have to be military 😉 Keep up the great “fotos” I enjoy them very much!

  8. Wow, very cool. And definitely need a tripod for that, this came out incredible though!! Love it.

    🙂
    ~Tabitha

  9. I love this picture….I have been wanting to play with low lighting settings (I’ve never been good at it) and using a tripod…unfortunately my tripod broke so until I get another one, i can’t experiment like this.

    • A tripod definitely makes things easier. You can get around it a bit by propping your camera on something and using your timer to ensure that you don’t get any vibrations, but the best results will be with a tripod. 🙂

      • yea I use to try playing around with it, but I had a cheap one, and when Iwent home to visit while my husband was deployed I left it, and my family doesn’t exactly take it easy on things so bottom line is I don’t have one anymore…hehe….

        • Fair enough! I’ve been told that your tripod is worth what you’ve paid for it. My tripod was fairly expensive and a good brand (Manfrotto), so I expect it to last a long time! haha.

  10. Pingback: B&W Foto Fog & My Foto Edit « Fletch and Jenny Ostrander's Weblog

  11. Pingback: Jumping Selfie Saturdays (On Sunday) | Without Adornment

  12. Brilliant color. Great exercise!

  13. Pingback: Saskatchewan Road Trip | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

