SRC: A Calculated Whisk’s Avocado Pesto Pasta Salad

A Calculated Whisk Avocado Pesto-3
For July’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Becky of A Calculated Whisk. She also cooks gluten free (and paleo), so I was was spoiled in my options and with the eye candy of her beautiful photos!

Becky also loves putting avocados in smoothiesSalted chocolate hazelnut cookies, Mexican almond pulp browniesVietnamese caramelized pork meatballs vermicelli bowls and Pico de gallo de frutas.

I had a few avocadoes on my counter and some fresh basil that needed using up, so I ended up making her  avocado cilantro pesto pasta salad.

A Calculated Whisk Avocado Pesto-2

I did modify the recipe as I had basil to use up, so I replaced the cilantro in my version. I added garlic because what pesto is complete without garlic? I used my single serve blender instead of a food processor as it’s much easier to clean. I think pestos are supposed to be chunkier, but I blended mine smooth. I used hemp hearts instead of the feta as I had it on hand and I try not to eat a lot of cheese.

I tried it both warm and cold and I prefer the cold version of it. It goes very well with barbecued meat, making this the perfect healthy summer side dish! Mr. Bean and I liked it so much we are definitely adding it into our repertoire!

A Calculated Whisk Avocado Pesto-1

Avocado Pesto Pasta Salad

2 avocados
1 clove of garlic
1 c. Fresh basil
3 Tbsp. olive oil
1/2 c. Hemp hearts, divided
Juice of 1 lime
Salt
Pepper
Green onions, sliced
Peas (optional)
1 lb. pasta (I used go go quinoa circle pasta, but feel free to use whatever kind of pasta you want.)

  1. Cook pasta to Al Dente. Drain and set aside.
  2. In a food processor or blender, blend together avocados, lime juice, olive oil, garlic and basil. Once smooth/to the desired degree of blendedness, add 1/4 c. of hemp hearts and blend.
  3. Pour pesto over pasta, adding green onions, peas and remainder of the hemp hearts.
  4. Salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Enjoy!

A Calculated Whisk Avocado Pesto-4

What’s your favourite summer pasta? 

For the rest of Group D’s recipes, please click below!

26 Comments

Filed under Food

26 responses to “SRC: A Calculated Whisk’s Avocado Pesto Pasta Salad

  1. hemp hearts – I am intrigued! Have never heard of these, nor seen them in Australia. Love avos!

  2. karen278

    Pesto, Pasta and Salad are three of my favourite thing and to combine them is pure genius! Karen

  3. These are some of my favorite ingredients. This looks delish. Happy Reveal Day!

  4. Holy Samoly this looks delicious. Great choice for this month’s reveal.

  5. Love everything about this salad, and I’m also a huge fan of her blog… 😉

  6. Oh, I love any recipe that combines avocado with pasta – such a good, unexpected combination! This pasta salad is totally the type of thing I’d choose for the SRC, too – excellent choice! =)

  7. I eat pasta salad like it is going out of stye in the summer, so anytime I can get my hands on a different recipe, I get excited. This sounds delicious! Great pick his month 🙂

  8. Sounds scrumptious! Quinoa circle pasta? Need to check that out.

  9. Did you know avocados have more potatsium than a banana? Just a little tidbit. This looks fabulous! I have avocados and well, who doesn’t have pasta? #onthemenu

    • That’s really cool! Just another reason to keep eating avocado. (But who are we kidding? We don’t need more reasons to eat avocados!)

  10. What a lovely choice for reveal day – sounds amazing!

  11. turnips 2 tangerines

    Great src pick this month!
    Lynn @ Turnips 2 Tangerines

  12. I like the change up to basil!

  13. I must make this. What a fantastic choice this month!

Leave a Reply

