Daniel Fast

Have you ever done a fast? I haven’t. The prospect of not eating or only eating a minimal amount doesn’t really appeal to me. Somewhat ironically I’m starting the Daniel fast today. It’s based on one of the three-week fasts Daniel from the Old Testament did while in Babylon.

“In those days I, Daniel, was mourning three full weeks. I ate no pleasant food, no meat or wine came into my mouth, nor did I anoint myself at all, till three whole weeks were fulfilled.”

– Daniel 10: 2-3

This is my kind of fast as I can still eat actual food instead of starving myself! So what do I get to eat? The fast is basically a variation of a vegan diet: I cannot have meat or animal products (including eggs and dairy), no sweeteners, no processed food, no chemicals, no leavening agents and no solid fats. So what can I eat? I can eat fruits, vegetables, legumes and beans, nuts, healthy liquid fats, whole grains, spices (including salt and pepper) and water. Sounds pretty healthy, doesn’t it?

The reason for fasting to two fold: firstly, I wanted to try some sort of elimination diet or fast to see what I am allergic/intolerant to as my body is having issues as of late. My counsellor suggested the Daniel fast, so I looked into it. Given that it also has a spiritual component, I thought this would be a good idea as I am needing guidance from God as to what he wants me to do from this point on.

My goal is to find out what God wants me to do in my life and to find out what I am sensitive to, especially when I introduce things like dairy and eggs back into my diet. I know that I react to gluten, so I will not be testing for that (in case you’re wondering.)

I’m going to try to do the whole three weeks, but I am going to judge it a week at a time depending on how my body is feeling. I reckon, if what I’m eating (especially some beans and “health” foods that I don’t eat on a regular basis) makes me feel terrible, why continue.

I hope to share the meals that I have had (I’ve found some really interesting ones!) and how I’m feeling and reacting to what I am eating. It’s going to be challenging for me as I am definitely a meat and vegetables (+ baked goods) type of person. Please feel free to join me and follow along my adventures into veganism and fasting!

Have you ever tried a vegan or vegetarian diet? What recipes would you recommend?

17 Comments

Filed under Food, Life

17 responses to “Daniel Fast

  1. That sounds like an interesting fast. I’ve always been fascinated with the idea of fasting for spiritual reasons but with small kids I’ve never thought it a wise thing to do. I need my energy! But I’m going to check out this one. I’m not sure if I could do three weeks but we’ll see.

    Here are some recipe links I think might work for your diet.
    http://prairiemother-prairiemother.blogspot.com/2010/09/foody-friday-black-bean-corn-and-rice.html

    http://prairiemother-prairiemother.blogspot.com/2010/10/foody-friday-vegetarian-sheperds-pie.html

    http://prairiemother-prairiemother.blogspot.com/2010/11/foody-friday-ratatouille.html

    • Thank you so much for the links! The most stressful part of this for me is finding recipes that fit the criteria, don’t quite too many weird ingredients (as vegan things usually do) *and* that I think my husband will like.

  2. You are going to LOVE this! I’ve done several fasts from juices to an elimination type fast like the one you’re starting. The first few days are tough, but hang in there! Not only does your body start feeling clean and you feel more energized, but it breaks the addictions to sugar, processed foods, and caffeine that have such a grip on us. And YOU have the benefit of the spiritual results as well. God sustains you and gives you a new perspective. When you are free from food obstacles you are more free to hear what God is telling you. Blessings to you as you begin. Keep us updated! (And email if you need encouragement! heather(at)glutenfreecat(dot)com.)

    Heather
    http://www.glutenfreecat.com

  3. Pingback: Peanut (Not Quite) Brittle | Without Adornment

  4. Thanks for visiting today! I’m doing my first fast ever right now as well. Praying that you more nearer to God in the process and that He reveals Himself to you with special respect to your food intolerances.

  5. I’ve fasted before, and right now I’m reading a book about it! It’s called simply “Fasting” by Scott Mcknight. This book has totally changed my perspective from trying to manipulate God or get something from Him, to being a response TO something. A burden, a feeling of distance to God, grief over sin, or an expression of dependency, or repentance. I highly recommend it!

  6. Rae

    Oh funny! I always thought the Daniel fast was based on what the young men ate when rejecting the King’s food. I didn’t realize it was based on Daniel’s fasting. In any case, it sounds better than Esther’s and I hope it goes well for you. I did something similar for Advent last year and will do it for Lent this year, though Sundays allow regular food.

  7. Pingback: Daniel Fast: Day 4 | Without Adornment

  8. Pingback: Quick, Easy and Healthy Snack! | Without Adornment

  9. Pingback: Mixed Bean Quinoa Salad with Spinach and Tomatoes | Without Adornment

  10. Pingback: Daniel Fast: Day 11 | Without Adornment

  11. This is a fantastic idea. I think I will join you in your efforts. Have you heard Oprah is going vegan this week on her network? Great minds think alike!

    • That’s really neat! Eating vegan is definitely a huge change, especially if you love meat and cheese! It’ll be interesting to see how she finds it.

  12. Pingback: Vegan Polenta Pizza | Without Adornment

  13. Pingback: Daniel Fast Day 17 | Without Adornment

  14. Pingback: Spring Cleaning Time: The Daniel Fast | Become a Healthier You

  15. Pingback: Top 11 Recipes of 2011 | Without Adornment

Leave a comment