Vegan Gluten Free Rhubarb Apple Galette

Ever heard of a galette before? I hadn’t – I guess that isn’t terribly surprising as french food has never been very prominent in my family – that is until a week or so ago my sister wrote about her apple galette making experience. Since I had some pie dough left over from my previous pie making and a ton of rhubarb from a friend to use up (unfortunately the rhubarb in the pot on my front step isn’t growing enough to make enough for baking), I wanted a way to use them up that wasn’t quite your traditional pie.  I was also feeling lazy and didn’t want to make more dough so that I could make the usual double crusted rhubarb pie – besides, I’ve already made one like that before!

I was actually fairly surprised with how easy the galette is put together because there is no transferring the dough into the pie pan and having to piece it back together. I do recommend using a sturdier pie dough that can stand rolling and bending as both are key parts of making the galette.

I have mentioned a while ago how I had been cutting back the amount of sugar that I eat as I’ve come to realize that I’m not immune to the vicious cycle of the more sugar I eat, the more I crave it. The last few weeks I haven’t been very good and watching this and now I’m dealing with the consequences – I’ve been struggling more emotionally and gained a bit of weight because of all the less great food I have been eating. Thus, I have renewed my desire to reduce the amount of sugar I eat. Understandably, this poses a bit of a problem when using rhubarb as it is incredibly sour and requires some kind of sweetener. (I will occasionally eat cranberries straight, which causes Mr. Bean to laugh at all the faces I make, but I draw the line at eating unsweetened rhubarb.) I know I could use some sugar substitute, but I happily don’t own any, so I needed to come up with a different solution. The answer? I decided to add an apple to help add sweetness and just used a bare minimum of agave nectar to counteract the tang from the rhubarb. It worked quite well, but if you want it to be sweeter, don’t hesitate to add more agave nectar.

Vegan Gluten and Refined Sugar Free Rhubarb Apple Galette

1 GF pie crust dough (I used the leftover Namaste GF Pie Crust dough from my previous pie adventures)
3 c. rhubarb, cut into 1 cm (1/2″) pieces
1 sweet apple (I used gala), peeled, cored and cut into 1/2″ pieces
3 tbsp. tapioca starch
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. cardamom
3 tbsp. agave nectar (more if desired)

  1. Roll out the pie dough into a circle until the crust is slightly more than 1/4″ thick between a piece of plastic wrap (top) and parchment paper (bottom). Remove the plastic wrap and press the edges of the disk to smooth them out and make it more circular.
  2. In a medium sized bowl, mix together the rhubarb, apple, tapioca starch, cinnamon and cardamom until rhubarb and apple are evenly coated.
  3. Drizzle on the agave nectar and toss until evenly coated.
  4. Pile the rhubarb mixture onto the middle of the pie dough, leaving a 2″ border.
  5. Using the parchment paper, fold the edges of the dough over the filling mixture. Use your fingers to press the dough together to keep it folded.
  6. Transfer parchment paper onto a cookie sheet and bake in preheated oven at 350F for 25 minutes.
  7. Rotate the pan and cook for another 20 minutes or until filling is bubbly and pie crust is golden brown. Note: I did add about 1 tbsp. of water to the the filling when I rotated it.
  8. Remove from oven and let cool before serving.
  9. Enjoy!

Do you like rhubarb?

Shared at: Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays, Hearth and Soul Hop 53 and Gluten Free Wednesdays.

14 Comments

Filed under Baking

14 responses to “Vegan Gluten Free Rhubarb Apple Galette

  1. ostranderblog

    OMG your killing me, I’m loving all this baking! And yes, actually I like Rhubarb. I had to learn to make strawberry rhubarb for DH, its his favorite pie. I love the tang!

  2. I’ve heard of galettes, but never tried making one before. Yours look absolutely gorgeous and very delicious! Love the combination of apples and rhubarb.

  3. This looks delicious, but I have to admit that I don’t think I’ve ever tried rhubarb. I’m intrigued…

  4. This looks divine! I haven’t tried the combination of apples and rhubarb yet. I can’t wait to make this. 🙂

  5. I love galettes…sweet or savory. Actually when I think of beautiful, rustic 🙂 desserts, I think of these open faced pies. I like how you combined apple with the rhubarb. We share a common enemy with the sugar, and I too, am in the camp of not having done the greatest lately. Here’s to cutting back with yummy desserts like this one!

  6. We like rhubarb a lot, especially in a pie, although usually two-crusted. The idea of a galette will be fun to try!

  7. ohh! That looks good! I love rhubarb, but haven’t had any in a long time… 😦

  8. That looks delicious and perfectly made. The combination of rhubarb and apple is excellent choice. Thanks for sharing this with hearth and soul hop 🙂

  9. I miss rhubarb, it’s incredibly expensive in TX! I tried growning it and it just fries in the heat of summer, as do strawberries. I never thought of cardamom with rhubarb, you’d think the rhubarb would overpower the cardamom. How did it taste?

  10. Pingback: Tuesday Linkage!

  11. Pingback: Gluten-Free Persimmon Apple Galette ~ Secret Recipe Club | FoodBabbles

  12. Pingback: Gluten-Free Persimmon Apple Galette ~ Secret Recipe Club

  13. Pingback: Rhubarb And Apple Galette (Flat, Round Cake) - Vegan, Gluten Free, Healthy, Vegetarian - FoodSniffr Blog

  14. Pingback: Community Post: 49 Gluten-Free Vegan Things To Bake This February

Leave a comment