Namaste Baking Mixes Review and Giveaway

A while ago I was approached by Namaste Foods to review some of their gluten (plus dairy, soy, nut, corn & potato) free baking mixes. Since I had actually seen their products at one of the health food stores around here and how they are so allergy friendly, I was happy to accept! In addition, I also realize that sometimes there just isn’t time to make something from scratch, so having advice on what mixes to get is helpful!

I was encouraged to choose one sweet and one savoury mix: I chose their Pizza Crust mix and the Biscuits, Pie Crusts and More! mix.

Lately I’ve been trying to make my own pizza crusts as I don’t like paying huge amounts of money for two small crusts and I wanted vegan crusts, but with little success. The yeast crusts take too long and taste too yeasty and the non-yeast ones I’ve tried have had separation anxiety with my non-stick pan and wouldn’t stay together. So, when the opportunity to try Namaste’s pizza crust, I was quite excited. Fortunately it did not disappoint.

The mix was very easy to make – all I had to do was add water and oil, mix, spread out on a pan and bake. (Much easier than trying to wrestle to flatten pizza dough, wait for it to rise, and to struggle to cut it only to have the pizza crust taste too yeasty!) As a precautionary measure, I decided to make this crust on parchment paper so that it wouldn’t experience similar separation issues (causing me issues!) as past attempts.

The crust itself was very tasty and the added herbs were a nice touch. It cut fairly well and stayed together very well, even when it was cold! I wished that it would have risen slightly more, but the crust made a very good thin crust. I’m glad that it turned out as the mix makes two crusts! (In case you’re interested, this is what I put on the pizza: spread with tomato paste, sprinkle with italian seasonings and fresh parsley, cover with ham, spinach, thuringer sausage, peppers, onions, mushrooms, asparagus, pineapple and mozzarella cheese (optional).)

Since I’m still not eating eggs, I wanted to choose a mix that didn’t necessarily need them. Once I saw that they had a pie crust mix, I knew I wanted to try it as I believe that one of the hardest tests for gluten free baking is to make a pie crust that doesn’t fall apart immediately or doesn’t need a chain saw to cut.

Fortunately, I was very impressed with Namaste’s pie crust mix – it cut easily and didn’t crumble. The original recipe called to press the crust into the pan, but since Mr. Bean wanted a saskatoon berry pie for his birthday, I wanted to roll it out so I could have the traditional two-crust berry pie. After many frustrating attempts, I’ve found the best way to roll out pie crust is between two pieces of plastic wrap. As you can see, it rolled out very well as there were essentially no cracks in the top crust – almost unheard of in my experience with gluten free pie crusts!

I didn’t roll it out as thinly as I could have as by the end I had to exert a fair amount of pressure, hence the very large edges. Even so, I made double the recipe the mix gave me so I could have two crusts, but it made enough for about 3 pie crusts. The crust itself had a good texture – not quite as flaky as its gluten and dairy filled counterpart, but I can’t complain because it held its form very well. It was quite tasty, too – usually the pastry part of pies is my least favourite, but I found myself secretly enjoying breaking off the edges and eating it plain. Mr. Bean was also very impressed with this pie and he is looking forward to the pie I am going to make with the remaining dough!

The filling was adapted from the frozen berry pie filling from the Joy of Cooking. I didn’t quite add enough tapioca starch so the juices didn’t thicken up as much as I would have liked. It was very tasty regardless.

Saskatoon Berry Pie Filling

5 c. frozen saskatoon berries
1/2 c. sugar
4 tbsp. of tapioca starch
1 pinch salt
2 tbsp. grapeseed oil or melted butter (if desired)

  1. Preheat oven to 450F.
  2. Defrost berries only so that they all separate easily. Place berries in a large bowl.
  3. Add the sugar, tapioca starch and salt. Stir until berries are covered.
  4. Pour into the pie crust and cover with the top crust. Pinch edges of the crust together in any desired manner.
  5. Bake in the hot oven for 10 minutes.
  6. Turn the heat down to 350F and bake for 45 minutes or until crust is golden brown.
  7. Remove from the oven and allow to cool before cutting.
  8. Enjoy!

Now for the giveaway!

What you will win:

Namaste Giveaway Tote
3 Namaste Foods Products
Namaste Grocery tote
Copy of our Simple Pleasures Cookbook
Copy of Living Without Magazine
Assorted recipe cards

How to win:

  • Leave a comment below

For additional entries, you can:

  • Subscribe to my blog/rss feed and leave a comment to let me know (or if you already do, just leave a comment saying that!)
  • Share this giveaway on your blog, facebook or twitter (leave a separate comment for each)

This giveaway is now closed.

This giveaway is only open to the US and Canada! Sorry to my international readers! A winner will be drawn using random.org on June 14th.

Thanks for participating and good luck!

*I received both the pizza crust and biscuits, pie crusts and more mixes as well as a grocery tote and recipe cards in exchange for this review.*
48 Comments

Filed under Baking, Food

48 responses to “Namaste Baking Mixes Review and Giveaway

  1. Celia

    I would love that gift basket!

  2. Celia

    I subscribe via Google Reader.

  3. Celia

    I shared via Twitter.

  4. Celia

    And I shared on FB. πŸ™‚

  5. Megan

    That looks like an amazing gift basket!

  6. Megan

    I suscribe by google reader

  7. Rae

    Those look incredible (which I guess means just as good as your usual cooking/baking!). And I’m amazed at how perfect your pie looks. Are saskatoon berries that different from blueberries, or do you just work wonders with the tapioca? Mine always ends up as a gooey (if delicious) mess.

    And I already subscribe in Google Reader.

  8. judie

    I love their spice cake and toffee icing. I have served that, made in a 9×13 pan for special occasions with ZERO complaints.Baking egg,dairy and gluten free really ups the ante and it is wonderful to have a mix , available even in Canada waiting in your cupboard to help.

  9. What an amazing giveaway! I’d love the opportunity to win. I’ve been a subscriber for a few months now and thoroughly enjoy your blog!

  10. Cathy

    What a great giveaway. I am now craving pizza and pie after looking at your photos!

  11. Cathy

    I subscribe via email.

  12. I’ve never tried it but it looks so yummy! πŸ™‚

  13. Pingback: Vegan Gluten Free Blueberry Birthday Cupcakes with Raw Cashew Icing | Without Adornment

  14. I avoid most mixes – but these look like ones that I might actually like!

  15. I subscribe to your blog.

  16. I shared on twitter.

  17. I’m glad you posted this. I forgot about Namaste mixes. When my husband first got sick and we started avoiding gluten I bought them frequently before I began learning more about baking that way on my own.

  18. I would love to win this! I have tried their brownie mix before and liked it.

  19. I subscribe to your blog via RSS!

  20. Thank you for visiting my site, and I am so happy to see yours! Although I do not have a gluten sensitivity, I am sensitive to yeast and cane sugar. Your recipes are encouraging to those managing a challenging diet. Thanks for entering me into your drawing and I will share this information on my facebook site. Have a good day!

  21. Sounds delicious! I’d love to give them a try!

  22. I follow you with Google Reader.

  23. Carla

    These products sound fabulous! What a great prize package. My daughter is allergic to all nuts and sesame so I am always looking for allergen free products. Also, I rarely have the time to make things from scratch. I’ll have to check out this company (or win the prize package?!)
    Again and again, sensitiveeconomist’s photographs are amazing. I wish I could reach through the computer and take a bite!

  24. alicia

    I love Namaste!!! I especially love the spice cake. πŸ™‚ Would love to win some products.

  25. Diane

    I love to win all those baking mixes!

  26. That pie looks awesome! I have a couple of vegan pizza crust recipes on my blog if you ever want to try them. πŸ™‚ I made something with Namaste once, and didn’t like it, so I always wanted to try their products again to see if I had done something wrong.

    http://www.thedailydietribe.com/2011/01/gluten-free-flatbread-with-roasted-red.html
    and
    http://www.thedailydietribe.com/2011/04/quinoa-pizza-heaven.html

  27. Pingback: Shoot and Edit: Bubbles and an Update | Without Adornment

  28. Margot

    Christine the pie and pizza look great. Would be worth trying the crust as prepared shells are rather expensive. I hope relatives aren’t excluded from the contest.

  29. I also love their pizza crust, we make it all the time!

  30. I shared on facebook too πŸ™‚

  31. I love Namaste products and I love you blog! Thanks for sharing.

  32. Jaime

    I love all of your mixes! I hope I win the gift basket!

  33. Jaime

    I shared on Facebook! πŸ˜€

  34. Jaime

    I shared on Twitter! πŸ˜€

  35. I would love to win, it sounds yummy!

  36. Emily N.

    Thanks for the reviews. This sounds like a good brand and I’d love to win.

  37. Pingback: Selfie Saturday: Then, Now and Anon | Without Adornment

  38. Thanks for the baking tips sister πŸ™‚ I subscribe to your blog via Live feed ( I think lol).

  39. Amanda

    i just tweeted this giveaway! would be so much fun to win!

  40. Amanda

    I just subscribed to your blog! looking forward to reading.

  41. Love these pictures; the pie filling looks fabulous and so does that pizza. Absolutely gluten-free and delicious! Great post.

  42. Soozle

    Those photos are amazing! πŸ™‚ Thanks for hosting such a great giveaway!

  43. Great review! I think finding a good gf pie crust is like the holy grail of all gf eating. Glad to hear that the Namaste pie crust was tasty and held up well. Thanks for sharing and for hosting this terrific giveaway.

  44. I’ve never heard of saskatoon berries but your pie looks squealingly delicious! I just found your blog and am off to explore more…many thanks!

  45. Pingback: Vegan Gluten Free Rhubarb Apple Galette | Without Adornment

  46. Suzanne Hall DDS

    We used the pie crust mix for Thanksgiving, and it was sooo good! It had great flavor and rolled out easily between a sheets of plastic wrap, just be sure to chill it first. I will recommend it to my patients.
    I’ll try the pizza crust mix.

Leave a Reply

