Gluten and Refined Sugar Free Vegan Raspberry Bars

After coming home from a birthday party late on Saturday night, I turned to Mr. Bean and told him that I wanted to bake something. Always practical, he convinced me to wait until Sunday as baking at midnight when you’re supposed to be at church the next morning is perhaps not the best idea. So, I started scheming. I knew that I wanted to make some kind of dessert bar (especially given that this month’s challenge at the Gluten-Free Homemaker is to make a dessert bar) but I also didn’t feel like going to the grocery store to get new ingredients, so it had to be made from ingredients in my pantry. I perused many of my cookbooks for a recipe to work off of, but it was this apple bar recipe by Ginger Lemon Girl that really inspired me – simple, vegan, chocolate* and refined sugar free and easily adaptable. Awesome.

When I finally got around to baking on Sunday night (while listening to my dad tell me about the ski trip he and my mum went on for an hour), I just started putting ingredients together. Similar to how Deanna from The Mommy Bowl bakes cookies with her son, I picked my ingredients based on what I wanted the result to be. I wanted a high protein and fibre bar without eggs and the least amount of sweetener as possible, but still sweet enough to be considered a “dessert” bar.  I chose an almond/coconut/brown rice/tapioca flour blend and used quinoa flakes as well as oats. For the filling, I chose thawed frozen raspberries as that was what was in my freezer and spices that I thought would go well together.  So, I threw these all together (figuratively speaking – I do a good enough job of making my kitchen a disaster area as is) and hoped that it would work out – luckily for me, it did! This bar is just sweet enough – feel free to add more sweetener to taste if that’s what you fancy – and the combination of flours, berries and spices gives it a pleasantly complex flavour.

Gluten Free Vegan Raspberry Squares.

1/2 c. almond flour
1/2 c. brown rice flour
1/4 c. tapioca starch
1/4 c. coconut flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 c. gluten free oats
1/2 c. quinoa flakes
3 tbsp. palm sugar
1/2 – 2/3 c. coconut oil
3 c. thawed raspberries, with as much of the liquid drained as you can.
3 – 4 tbsp. honey or agave nectar
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. cardamom
1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Whisk together flours, baking powder and salt. Add oats, quinoa flakes and palm sugar and mix until evenly distributed.
  3. Add in unmelted coconut oil. Using your fingers, work the coconut oil into the flour mixture until there are no lumps remaining and the mixture is crumbly.
  4. In a separate bowl, stir together raspberries, honey and spices. Add more sweetener to reach desired sweetness.
  5. Press over half of the crumb mixture into a greased 8″ square pan. Scoop the raspberries onto the pressed bar mixture and distribute evenly. Sprinkle the remaining crumb mixture on top of the raspberries and pat lightly.
  6. Bake in heated oven for 30 – 40 minutes or until topping is light brown.
  7. Cool completely before cutting into squares.

What is your favourite kind of dessert bar?

*I wanted a chocolate free bar as I’m not sure whether I should eat it as I react negatively to caffeine and potentially cocoa. It makes me a bit sad, but anything to make my body feel good and function properly is worth it in the end. Or at least that’s what I tell myself. 😉

Recipe submitted to: Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays, Hearth and Soul Hop 43 and Gluten-Free Wednesdays.

38 Comments

Filed under Baking

38 responses to “Gluten and Refined Sugar Free Vegan Raspberry Bars

  1. These look so lovely! I want to make a gluten free oat bar but I don’t have all those flours. I’m going to try it with oats, wholegrain puffed rice, almond butter and honey. Do you think it will work?

  2. Lovely pictures! That oat crumble is making my mouth water.

  3. These look delicious! And Im loving the photos! Beautiful! 🙂

  4. YUM! My brother’s girlfriend has a gluten intolerance and is vegan, so I will definitely have to make these for her.

    • They are pretty easy and are incredibly tasty, so I would say it’s definitely worth it! If you do make them, please let me know how they turned out! 🙂

  5. YUM! these look fabulous! and i love the combination of flours-i might steal that, as i am still tinkering with my lemon bars. but i might have to make these first. 😉 i adore recipes that fit my sister’s diet and i don’t even have to tinker!

  6. AWH!!! These look AMAZING!!! 😀

  7. Wow, this looks awesome! I’m really impressed that you came up with a dessert that is both vegan and gluten free, and still looks delicious. Well done!
    -Krista
    http://www.thebeetreporter.blog.com

    • Thanks! It’s actually easier than you might think… Or maybe I’ve been cooking/baking this way for so long that it’s getting easier for me! haha.

  8. Delicious! We were just talking about a raspberry dessert yesterday haha..

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  9. The first couple of sentences of this post made me laugh because my husband and I have very similar conversations 🙂 I totally relate to the scheming about recipes…sometimes at work when I shouldn’t be thinking about them! These look great- I especially love the spices. Can’t wait to try them soon- hopefully!

  10. Pingback: Refined (processed) Carbohydrates | HONEY SYRUP AND SWEETENERS

  11. Any suggestions for avoiding the oats? I like them, but can’t eat them regularly.

    • You can probably use all quinoa flakes for the oatmeal. Or any other flaked grain that you can eat (I’m not sure which other grains come like that, sorry!)

  12. These sound wonderful! I love it when something so beautiful and delicious is good for you too! Also I have lots of frozen raspberries I need to use up so your timing is perfect. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe with the Hearth and Soul Blog Hop.

  13. these look so incredible! i want to make them right now! 🙂

  14. Those look lovely! I like raspberries, but don’t use them much. I’m sure they are delicious in this recipe. Thanks for participating in the monthly challenge.

  15. Pingback: Gluten-Free Wednesdays 4/20/11 | Elite Daily Diet and Fitness

  16. Pingback: Cranberry Bar Filling | Sustainable Food and Cooking by GroundCherry

  17. Pingback: Seasonal Sunday (04-24-11) Happy Easter! | Real Sustenance

  18. Hey I just saw this post. Not sure how I missed it. I’m so glad I could inspire you to experiment. See – it totally works! Your bars look amazing.

  19. These might be the ticket for the fundraiser/bake sale next month. Also, I wanted to make Nanaimo Bars but the recipe calls for graham crumbs – are there gluten-free graham crumbs out there??? What could I use instead that would be gluten-free?

  20. Pingback: Austin (and Round Rock!) Bakes for Bastrop « midnitechef

  21. Pingback: Top 11 Recipes of 2011 | Without Adornment

  22. Hey Bean, I made these bars again but without almond or oats. It always seems like there isn’t enough of the crust to get full coverage on top. I end up with raspberry peeking through the lace like topping. I guess the oats are the bulk replaced with quinoa which is a smaller flake. Should I up the quinoa to 2 cups??? This batch was made to cheer up a friend recovering from surgery at home 🙂

  23. Pingback: Vegan Goodies for a Friend « midnitechef

  24. Pingback: 50 Ways to Eat Berries | Gluten-Free + Dairy-Free Recipes with Natural Foods | Daily Bites

  25. Pingback: Slightly Indulgent Tuesday; 4/19/11 | Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free

  26. Clementine

    I’ve never used a majority of these ingredients. Once I buy them, what other recipes can I use them for? Thank you!

  27. Pingback: gluten-free raspberry breakfast bars… | a lovely mess

  28. Pingback: Raspberry Squares: These Are Delicious And Easy To Make! Gluten Free | yummyyummy

  29. Pingback: SECRET RECIPE CLUB: GLUTEN-FREE & VEGAN RASPBERRY BARS | Bewitching Kitchen

  30. Pingback: 50+ Best Raspberry Recipes

Leave a comment