How I Stopped Worrying and Loved The Fan


Have you ever tried taking photos with a fan? Until today, I had never even tried as that’s what models do in their crazy photoshoots, not what I do while trying to take self portraits in my bedroom. However, this week’s Selfie Saturday challenge was to take photos with a fan, so I tried it.


I did learn something very important from taking these photos: make sure that you use a powerful enough fan, especially if you have fairly short, straight hair that doesn’t really like to “catch in the breeze” so to speak. Our fan is quite small and is strong enough if you’re about a foot away. Oh well. I also wasn’t wearing any makeup (as I don’t normally), so do wear some if you want to look more glamorous. 🙂

The most challenging thing I find about self portraits is for me not to judge myself too harshly. I do a really good job of picking out my flaws in every. single. bloody. photo. that I take, so it’s difficult for me to accept myself how I am and for how I look.  I constantly have to remind myself that I am beautiful in the eyes of God and my husband says I’m sexy, so that’s got to count for something! 😉 Regardless, just to be real with how I look, I didn’t touch up any of the above photos, except for adjusting the exposure and sharpening slightly. Even with that, I think some of the photos did turn out quite well! I did touch up my favourite, though:

How do you feel about taking self portraits?

14 Comments

Filed under Photography

14 responses to “How I Stopped Worrying and Loved The Fan

  1. You look beautiful! I think you did a fabulous job with the self-portraits. When my husband and I were dating, we were long distance, and he always wanted pictures of me, so I found myself doing a lot of self-portraits. They’re challenging! I, too, just myself way too harshly!

  2. Robin

    You did a great job! I know I felt kind of silly, thinking “what am I, an old Victoria’s Secret model?” But it was actually kind of fun. Your last shot is great! And you’re beautiful!

  3. Christine, you are so pretty! I absolutely love the last portrait – gorgeous! I had to place our small fan on a chair and stand almost over it to get the “big hair”. So I had some technical difficulties as well. 🙂 But it was fun, wasn’t it?!

  4. You are beautiful! I love that second one with that great smile & that look in your eyes! Perfect!

  5. Love the second shot, so flirty and fun.

  6. Michelle

    Woohoo! You look great 🙂

  7. I saw that on Selfie… it looks so fun and yes SO terrifying. I have short hair – so I’d probably need a grass blower! lol
    The third shot of you peaking out is adorable and flirty! Love them all … even without an edit, but the edit does give it the more “Glam” model look 😉 Great selfie!! I’m glad you let go and just enjoyed yourself.

  8. Very nice job with the fan – I especially love how the last shot turned out!

  9. I love the last two! You’re adorable 🙂 I’ve never tried taking a self portrait with a fan, but it sounds like it was fun!

  10. Oh so great! I love the edited one, it looks really really awesome! Like something you’d see in a magazine for sure!

  11. Lovely!

    I’m not sure how I feel about self-portraits. I always hate pictures of myself at first, but if I leave ’em on my comp and come back a week later, I’m always surprised that they aren’t so bad (especially for someone who considers herself chronically un-photogenic).

    • I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one! I usually dislike photos I’ve taken initially but after I look through them again, I realize that they weren’t as bad as I thought! haha.

Leave a Reply

