Daily Archives: November 30, 2011

Studio Portraits with Gratitude

I just want to share a few photos that I took last night at my most recent photography course! I’m so grateful that I’m able to take these courses and that one of my good friends (above) and brother-in-law (at bottom) were able to come and be models for us!

I think I’m getting a bit better with taking studio shots and more comfortable with telling people how to pose and I am incredibly thankful for that as it means that classes are considerably less stressful and I enjoy myself so much more!

One of the set ups was with a DIY ring flash (daylight balanced fluorescent lights in a ring formation bungee corded onto stands) and so it meant that you’re using a higher ISO, bigger aperture and slower shutter speeds than the usual ISO 100, 1/125s and f/5.6-11 of studio portraiture. One thing that usual studio strobes are very forgiving of is moving the camera while taking shots. Unfortunately, it took a while for me to remember that moving your camera while taking photos = shots that range from not as tack sharp as you hope to completely blurry. Oops. Body tripod training here I come. Even though that’s embarrassing, I’m thankful to have learned that while taking a course instead of while taking photos of clients!

How was your Thanksgiving? What are you thankful for?

All these shots are straight out of the camera with no editing and are my submission for this week’s Thanksgiving Themed Good to Wow: Shoot and Edit.

6 Comments

Filed under Photography, Thoughts