Daily Archives: November 28, 2011

SRC: One Lovely Life’s Fall Fruit Pie

Can’t decide whether you want pie or crisp? How about make both! For November’s Secret Recipe Club, I made One Lovely Life’s Fall Fruit Pie. Emily had TONS of beautiful and delicious looking recipes – it was so hard for me to choose just one to make!

Obviously I changed things a bit as I can’t eat gluten. I made an almond flour crust (that I apparently cooked too much – user error on my part!) and used a mixture of almond and brown rice flour for the topping and brown rice flour in the pie itself. I also used less sugar as my apples and pears were quite sweet and no cinnamon so that my mom could eat it.

I quite enjoyed this pie – the topping makes it especially fabulous! I thinking I would love to make it again but with an actually nice pie crust that isn’t overcooked. I really like how this pie had both apples and pears – it’s like the best of both worlds!

As per Ground Cherry’s request, here is the recipe I used for the topping:

1/3 c. cold Earth Balance Soy Free Buttery Spread
1/3 – 1/2 c. sucanat, ground into a fine powder
1/2 c. GF oatmeal
1/4 c. each of almond flour and brown rice flour
1/4 c. chopped almonds
1/4 tsp. salt

If you have some time, do go over and check out some of Emily’s recipes!


Also shared at: Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays and Gluten-Free Wednesdays.

27 Comments

Filed under Baking, Food, Photography