Daily Archives: December 23, 2009

On the Matter of Christmas

First off – this semester is over! Praise the Lord! I am so glad that I made it through and now I have a two-week break before it’s back to the daily grind.

Now, that that’s out-of-the-way, onto this whole Christmas thing. I was finding it somewhat difficult to get into the “Christmas Spirit” due to school. I would turn the radio to a different station when Christmas carols came on – I swore off the Christian radio station because all they play in December is Christmas music. When you’ve got a lab report, a design report and 3 major exams to study for, Christmas seems like a wonderful, unattainable beacon that will never arrive.   But now that I’m done, I’ve dived head first into an accelerated Christmas experience.

I’ve danced around my kitchen to this:

I’ve almost cried listening to this:

I’ve had a (my first mind you) pioneer woman eyeliner moment at Mr. Bean’s Christmas party:

Any tips on putting it on? I’m a terribly inexperienced make-up wearer.

I’ve also baked up a storm (more on that later), finished Christmas shopping, eaten enough sugar to send a diabetic into a coma and welcomed my sister back from the first part of her DTS. I’m also terribly excited because this Christmas will finally be a white one!

I do have one annoyance – a contentious issue for many Christians and the “politically correct:” how Christmas is no longer named Christmas anymore. Sadly, I don’t know which one bother me more: that everywhere it’s “Season’s Greeting” or “Happy Holidays” or that I expect it to be that way. It’s called Christmas! (Thank you very much.) Is it sad that every time I see a Calgary Transit bus blink “Merry Christmas,” it makes me smile?

How have you celebrated Christmas thus far?

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts