Gluten, Dairy, Soy and Egg Free Carrot Cake

Have you seen this video of the Hallelujah Chorus being sung in a food court in Ontario? If not, I highly recommend watching it.

Man, I love classical music.

I also love classic cakes, like carrot cake. When my mum asked me to make a cake for a party she was having, I knew that I wanted to make carrot cake. The only downside was the carrot cake I usually make has mayonnaise in it, so it’s a no-go for my family. I did find a recipe on Tasty Kitchen that looked very easy to convert to family friendly.

The recipe doesn’t quite make your taste buds break out in “Hallelujahs” (like mine would for good crème brûlée or rich dark chocolate mousse), but it is still very tasty. It’s also vegan, most common allergen free and pretty healthy as cakes go.  I reduced both the oil and sugar by half and increased the amount of grated carrot. If you want a more flavourful cake, I would recommend increasing the amount of the spices. Plus, If you can have cinnamon, please add some as well!

Gluten, Dairy, Soy, Egg and Cinnamon Free Carrot Cake

1 1/2 c. brown rice flour
1/2 c. tapioca starch
1 tsp. xathan gum
2 tsp. baking soda
3/4 tsp. nutmeg
3/4 tsp. ginger
1/4 tsp. cloves
1/4 tsp. allspice
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 c. canola oil
3/4 c. applesauce
1 c. sugar
Egg replacer for 3 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
2 – 3+ c. shredded carrot
1 can 8 3/4 oz. crushed pineapple, drained but keep the juice
1/2 – 1 c. unsweetened shredded coconut, raisins or chopped nuts (optional)

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Grease and flour a 9 x 13″ pan.
  2. Sift flours, xathan gum, baking soda, spices and salt together. Set aside.
  3. In separate larger bowl, mix oil and sugar. Then add applesauce, egg replacer and vanilla and beat well.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to liquid mixture. Add small amounts of pineapple juice if the batter seems too thick.
  5. Fold in carrots, pineapple and coconut.
  6. Pour into prepared pan and cook for 40 – 50 minutes or until the cake feels cooked on top and a toothpick inserted into the cake in multiple places comes out clean.
  7. Let cool on a wire rack. Enjoy!

What makes your taste buds sing “Hallelujah?”

Linked up to Simply Sugar and Gluten Free’s Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays.

2 Comments

Filed under Baking

2 responses to “Gluten, Dairy, Soy and Egg Free Carrot Cake

  1. Pingback: 101 in 1001 Conclusion | Without Adornment

  2. raebug2u@yahoo.com

    I can hardly wait to try this! Thanks for posting!

Leave a comment