SRC: Lynsey Lou’s Brussel Sprout Slaw

Lynsey Lous Brussel Sprout Slaw-1.

For February’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Lynsey of Lynsey Lou’s. Lynsey is a natural in the kitchen – she learned to cook with her family as a child and continues to spend lots of time trying new recipes! I am so impressed with her beautiful photos and how many recipes she has – I wish I had her level of dedication and inspiration!

She has tons of delicious recipes, including her peanut butter caramel skillet cookie, homemade coconut almond granola and roasted banana pudding! She even has theme weeks like peanut butter week, waffle week and slow cooker week!

Lynsey Lous Brussel Sprout Slaw-3

I ended up choosing her Brussel Sprout Slaw. It’s a bit of a Christmas-y dish, but I knew I couldn’t pass it up. It didn’t disappoint!

I had to make a few changes as finding pomegranets at this time of year is equivalent to finding the holy grail and I can’t eat Greek yoghurt. I made 2/3 of her recipe, but only made half the sauce as I’m not a soggy salad person. I used vegan mayo, and olive oil instead of vegetable and we ended up adding bacon (not pictured) as what salad isn’t made better with bacon?

Lynsey Lous Brussel Sprout Slaw-4

Vegan Brussel Sprout Slaw

1/2 c. pecans
1 lb Brussel sprouts, trimmed
3 tbsp. vegan mayo (feel free to use regular if you can eat it)
1 1/2 tbsp. dijon mustard
1 tbsp. honey
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 tsp. orange zest
1 tbsp. orange juice
2 tbsp. apple cider vinegar
Salt and Pepper to Taste
Dried Cranberries (I used apple juice sweetened)
Bacon (optional as not vegan, not in photos)

  1. Preheat oven to 375F.
  2. Spread pecans in a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake for 5 – 7 minutes until fragrant.
  3. Let pecans cool, then coarsely chop & set aside.
  4. Using a food processor (or knife if you’re really ambitious), shred Brussel sprouts using the slicer (not the grater).
  5. In a large bowl, whisk together the mayo, mustard, honey, oil and orange zest. Add the orange juice and vinegar and whisk until smooth.
  6. Add shredded Brussel sprouts to bowl and toss until combined. Season with salt and pepper.
  7. Transfer to a serving dish and sprinkle with pecans, dried cranberries and bacon (if using).
  8. Cover and refridgerate for 2+ hours.
  9. Enjoy!

Lynsey Lous Brussel Sprout Slaw-2

Check out the rest of Group D’s recipes by clicking below!

14 Comments

Filed under Food

14 responses to “SRC: Lynsey Lou’s Brussel Sprout Slaw

  1. I think Brussel sprouts are one of the greatest veggies, and so many people don’t care for the poor things!

    I love when they are thinly sliced, to me it makes them perfect, so your choice for this month’s adventure is perfect, as far as I’m concerned… 😉

    Happy Reveal Day!

  2. Oh yum – that looks simply amazing! What a fantastic combination of flavors!

  3. karen278

    I LOVE sprouts and think they are very undervalued in the veggie world! Great SRC pick! Karen

  4. I am always looking for new ways to make Brussels sprouts. They are my favorite but I tend to get in a rut. Nice call with the bacon. Happy Reveal Day!

  5. Happy reveal day! I’m so glad you enjoyed this slow, it’s one of our favorite sides and a delicious way to enjoy brussel sprouts (such an under appreciated veggie). Your adaptations sound so good, and of course, everything is better with bacon!

  6. We love Brussels sprouts but never have them raw. This slaw sounds awesome.

  7. I am definitely putting this slaw on my to make list. Thanks for sharing.

  8. What an amazing slaw recipe! I love Brussels sprouts, and bacon makes everything better, so how can you go wrong with a slaw that contains them both!? Great pick this month 🙂

  9. We LOVE raw Brussels sprouts. I’ll have to give this recipe a try soon.

  10. This looks and sounds SO lovely! I’ve been meaning to make a brussels slaw – might have to finally whip one up this week. =) Great choice!

  11. Sounds wonderful! I’ve yet to try making brussel sprout slaw and now I’m inspired!

  12. Great idea to shred the sprouts, I’ll never buy pre-packaged slaw again!

  13. I’ve never eaten Brussels sprouts as a slaw, but this looks so tasty, I need to give them a try!

  14. shockinglydelicious

    Exactly my kinda salad. Love it! Wonderful SRC pick this month. Sorry it took me so long to get here to comment.

Leave a comment