SRC: Collie’s Kitchen’s Roast Carrots

Collies Kitchen Roast Carrots-3

For January’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Nicole of Collie’s Kitchen. Nicole is a woman after my heart – we both love to cook and hate doing dishes!!

Even though it hasn’t been terribly cold here lately, I’ve been wanting healthy comfort food like roast veggies. I don’t think a week has gone by that I haven’t roasted any! Of all the veggies I normally roast, carrots aren’t part of that rotation, so when I saw Nicole’s recipe for Roast Carrots, I knew I wanted to give it a try! I had some leftover rainbow carrots that are only palatable when cooked (am I the only person who is a carrot snob? Normally we get carrots from a local grower and they are infinitely better than the woody carrots from the store, even the rainbow ones!) so I thought why not? (If roasting carrots isn’t to your fancy, Nicole has TONS of other roast veggies like Asparagus, Cabbage, Green Beans or Zucchini!)

Collies Kitchen Roast Carrots-1

I used the amount of oil called for in the recipe, but I found the carrots were too oily and I patted them off with paper towel before I ate them, so I recommend starting with 1 tbsp and adding more if desired. Despite the recipe being simple, they were very tasty! Nicole was right, these babies shrink a lot!

Collies Kitchen Roast Carrots-2

Roast Carrots

1 lb of carrots, cleaned and peeled
1 tbsp of olive oil
1/2 – 1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper

  1. Preheat oven to 400F. Lightly grease a cookie sheet or line with parchment paper.
  2. Cut carrots into slices and pile onto the pan.
  3. Pour olive oil over carrots, and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Toss to coat carrots and spread out into a single layer.
  4. Roast carrots for 20 – 30 minutes, depending on how brown you want them to be. At about 15 min, shake pan and flip carrots over so both sides brown nicely.
  5. Remove from oven and serve immediately.
  6. Enjoy!

Collies Kitchen Roast Carrots-4

Nicole, it was lovely to spend time looking through your blog! You have so many delicious recipes!

Please check out the rest of Group D’s recipes by clicking the link below!

27 Comments

Filed under Food

27 responses to “SRC: Collie’s Kitchen’s Roast Carrots

  1. Mmmm… I LOVE ROASTED VEGGIES!! Roasted carrots makes me happy. 🙂 Perfect pick for reveal day!

  2. I’ve never thought of roasting carrots before! I don’t like eating carrots raw so this sounds like a great alternative!

    I had your blog this month! We all loved the Ginger Crinkle Cookies. I was skeptical about my boys since they want chocolate in everything but they absolutely loved them and are asking me to make them again! Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

  3. Roasting vegetables is such a wonderful way to develop their flavor. Mmmmmmm.

  4. Love the carrots of different colors, they made the dish so much more interesting!

    that’s more or less the way I roast carrots, although I usually cut them in sticks or wedges. I think I like your way better…

    nice post!

  5. emmajeanne16

    This is my husband’s favorite side. Does anyone really like to do dishes? I hate them too. Happy Reveal Day!

  6. Love roasted carrots, especially rainbow with all the colors! So delicious and simple. Great pick!

  7. Roasting veggies always seems to make them taste better, doesn’t it? Very pretty!

  8. One of my favorite ways to eat carrots! Happy Reveal Day~ Lynn

  9. Oh now I want a big bowl of roasted carrots! Great pick for SRC

  10. How funny that there were 2 roasted carrot recipes this reveal day! I love that you used multi-colored carrots. So pretty! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  11. Love that you used rainbow carrots… so pretty! These look perfectly cooked. YUM!

  12. These look absolutely stunning – yum!!

  13. I like roasting carrots. I’ve never had rainbow carrots though – they’re beautiful!

Leave a comment