Go Ahead Honey It’s Gluten Free February: Tropical Vacation

If you haven’t completed your entry of this month’s Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free, please email me the link to your blog post and a picture at bean[dot]plant[at]hotmail[dot]com by February 27th! The more the merrier! 🙂

I am the lucky host of this month’s Go Ahead Honey It’s Gluten Free! I chose the theme of “Tropical Vacation” – something I desperately wish I could have at this moment despite reading week being just over! It’s a good thing that we had this wonderful tropical meal to keep us going!

On the menu was tropical pork-pineapple kebabs, apple squash boat and carrots.

I did my best to keep as much of the ingredients local as possible: Alberta pork, apples from my in-law’s tree, carrots and squash from Innisfail and mushrooms from Edmonton. I guess the pineapple really undid all the environmental good that the rest of the local ingredients contributed, but no tropical meal is complete without it.

In addition, no tropical meal is complete without a fruity drink plus umbrella, like a strawberry daiquiri.

Yum!

Tropical Pork Pineapple Kebabs

Pork Tenderloin cut into ~1″ pieces
Red Pepper, cut into ~1″ pieces
Fresh Pineapple, cut into ~1″ pieces
Mushrooms, washed with ends off
Pineapple Juice*
Brown Sugar
Olive Oil
Salt & Pepper
Chili powder

  1. Put a large amount of pineapple juice, some brown sugar, some olive oil, a few dashes of chili pepper, salt and pepper (to taste) in a plastic bag. Shake around until sugar is dissolved.
  2. Place meat in bag to marinade for as long as you want (at least 1 hour).
  3. Place some (we used 6) wooden skewers to soak in water for at least 1/2 hour.
  4. Prepare oven (at 400F) or BBQ.
  5. Once skewers are sufficiently soaked, thread the pork, pineapple, pepper and mushrooms alternatively, with meat on each end.
  6. Pour the remaining marinade into a pot and add some cornstarch to thicken. Use a brush to brush the kebabs with the glaze.
  7. Broil or grill the kebabs for 5 minutes of each side, turning until the meat is done.
  8. Enjoy!

Apple Squash Boat

1 mini acorn or winter squash
2 c. apples, sliced
Brown sugar
Cinnamon

  1. Heat oven to 350F or turn on BBQ.
  2. Wash squash, cut in half and remove seeds and membranes.
  3. Toss apples in brown sugar and cinnamon until desired sweetness.
  4. Scoop apples equally into squash halves.
  5. Place squash halves in a dish, add a bit of water and cover with aluminum foil.
  6. Cook for about an hour or until squash and apples are tender.
  7. Garnish with an umbrella and enjoy!

Strawberry Daiquiri

6 Strawberries, hulled and cut in half
Margarita mix or Lime Juice
Ice
2 oz. Malibu Coconut Rum

  1. Place all ingredients in a blender until mixture resembles a slurpee, adding ice or Margarita mix as required.
  2. Prepare two small plates: one with lime juice/Margarita mix and the other with sugar. Moisten lip of glass with juice and then dip in sugar to create the frosting on the lip of the glass.
  3. Garnish with an umbrella. Enjoy!

The carrots can be cooked in any manner that you see fit.

It was a very delicious meal! The squash was pretty good – this is coming from someone who doesn’t particularly like squash.

I hope that you’re all able to enjoy your mini “tropical vacation” while enjoying watching the (Ironically) Winter Olympics – I’m definitely a fan of showing some Canadian pride! 🙂 I’m also really looking forward to all of your entries and drooling over your meals!

*I’m sorry that all of these measurements are approximate – Mr. Bean and I just started making things without noting measurements.

14 Comments

Filed under Food

14 responses to “Go Ahead Honey It’s Gluten Free February: Tropical Vacation

  1. It has been fun admiring your tropical cuisine! We had 18 inches of snow last weekend, so I am planning a vaction to a sunny beach and your post helped put me in the mood. I will be trying the kebabs and squash boat soon!

  2. this looks like the perfect meal to chase the winter blues away! thanks for stopping by my blog on my SITS feature day, I really appreciate your comments.

  3. Sounds like you had fun though?
    Just came over from SITS to say hi.

  4. As a girl living in a tropical destination, I approve!

    I’m gonna try to copy this next week. I don’t have an oven (just a stove), so I may have to forgo the apple squash boat 😦 Any suggestions for something similar without having to bake?

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. Happy SITS Saturday! It’s raining and gray here and this looks like just the right solution!

  6. Rae

    I don’t know about the taste since I wasn’t there, but I’ll give you an A+ for presentation. It looks great.

  7. Pingback: February’s Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free « Without Adornment

  8. Oh, you need to be in short sleeves and in front of a palm tree with a dinner like that! 😉

  9. Pingback: Fried Calamari; Thick and Creamy Avocado Dressing; and Luscious Pina Coladas | gfe--gluten free easily

  10. Pingback: Tropical Pork Pineapple Kebabs- SRC |

  11. Pingback: Pumpkin Cake Pops | Burnt Apple

  12. My family loved this recipe. My daughter is with me right now after a rough patch, and this was her favorite. Thanks Bean.

  13. Pingback: Tropical Pork Kabobs :: The Barbee Housewife

Leave a comment