Birthdays and Strawberry Cheesecake Raw Vegan Cake Pops

Today is my birthday, so Happy Birthday to me! To celebrate, I wanted to try making raw cake pops for the Raw Cake Pop Challenge hosted by Vegan Culinary Crusade.

Update: These babies actually won second place in the raw cake pop challenge! How exciting is that?

Initially, I had no idea what I wanted to do. I thought about how much I loved the “cheesecake” part of my raw carrot cake, so wouldn’t it be great to eat that on a stick? Fabulous. I didn’t know how I would create a non-chocolate based coating until I came across this raw frosting that uses coconut oil. In case you didn’t know, coconut oil hardens at slightly below room temperature, so it would be fairly easy to make it liquid-y enough to dip into and remain hard enough to stay on. Perfect!

I’m quite pleased with how well these turned out – much better than my first try at cake pops. They also have considerably less sugar and are slightly healthier than those ones, too! I say slightly healthier as man, oh, man are these babies rich. It’s a good thing that they only come in small balls!

Raw Strawberry Cheesecake Cake Pops

1 1/2 c. raw cashews, soaked overnight
3/4 c. chopped strawberries
Zest of 1 lemon
Juice of 1 lemon + 1 tbsp. lemon juice
1/4 c. dried coconut
1/3 c. agave nectar
6 tbsp. coconut oil
Strawberry coating (recipe below)
Dried Coconut

  1. Drain and rinse the soaked cashews. Place in a food processor or blender with all the ingredients.
  2. Process until smooth (or as smooth as you can get it), stopping occasionally to scrape down the sides and taste to see if you need to add anything.
  3. Scrape mixture into a bowl and stick in the freezer for 1 hour or the fridge for 3, stirring occasionally until the mixture is solid enough to form into balls. Place balls in a wax paper lined pan and store in the fridge.
  4. 30 minutes before you plan to “ice” the cake pops, dip the end of lollipop sticks in agave nectar and insert into cake pops 1/2 – 3/4″ (depends on the size of your pops. If it pokes through, that’s okay. Just re-roll the balls and insert the stick perpendicular to the original hole. One they all have sticks, place them in the freezer for at least 20 – 30 minutes or until the outside is frozen.
  5.  Make strawberry coating (recipe below.) Store bowl in a sink 1/3 full of warm water to make sure the icing stays liquid.
  6. Pour some dried coconut into a cereal bowl.
  7. Remove pops from freezer. One at a time, swirl the pops in the strawberry coating (it should be liquid enough to cover easily and then since the pops are frozen, it will immediately start to solidify.)
  8. Dip the non-quite solidified pop into the dried coconut, doing your best to evenly coat it.
  9. Place pops upright in a piece of styrofoam. Store in the fridge or else they might get too soft and want to fall off their sticks.
  10. Enjoy!

Strawberry Coating

105 g Coconut oil (according to these people, this is 1/2 c.)
2 tbsp. agave nectar
4 – 5 tbsp. strawberry purée (I pureed 6 – 7 small strawberries in my magic bullet until smooth.)

  1. Place coconut oil in the mixing bowl. Place the bowl in a sink of warm water until the coconut oil is half melted.
  2. Beat on high until coconut oil is fluffy.
  3. Add agave nectar and beat until well combined.
  4. Add strawberry purée and beat until well combined. This coating should be fairly liquid-y.
  5. Keep bowl in warm water to ensure proper consistency, stirring occasionally to prevent the mixture from separating. Remove as necessary.

Have you tried making cake pops before?

This recipe has been submitted to: Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays.

31 Comments

Filed under Food, Life

31 responses to “Birthdays and Strawberry Cheesecake Raw Vegan Cake Pops

  1. Happy Birthday!

    We can be birthday buddies, mine was yesterday. :) I told Mike we was supposed to have made me a surprise birthday cake. He didn’t seem very contrite about it though. Heh.

    Those cake pops look so cute. I like the pink and white. Very springy. Hope you do something fun to celebrate!

    • BB the raw wanna be foodie

      Hi there! I love the site and the cute lil cake pops! I’m making these for a family’s birthday next week and wanted to know any suggestions for storing and taking them in the car! Thanks.

  2. Those are so cute!!! Great job.

  3. Happy Birthday!! Hope you had a wonderful day!

    Your cake pops look delicious, and you did a great job photographing them! :)

  4. Happy Happy Birthday! What a delicious way to celebrate. Your cake pops are beautiful!

    Thank you for participating in the challenge. I’m pretty excited for testing and tasting this weekend.

  5. these are amazing!!! great job!=)

  6. Happy belated birthday! I hope you had a fantastic day :)

  7. These are so pretty! I love the pink and white, and the little bows and tin can add a cute touch. I can’t wait to play with this recipe. Too much cashew makes my skin break out so I might try subbing some coconut flour, but that frosting/coating is perfect. Thanks for posting this!

  8. These look great. Just loving the idea of them. Congrats.

  9. Congrats on doing so well in the contest! I can’t wait to make these, and love the bows on your pops. Being strawberry season, great timing.

  10. These are so cute!! Happy belated birthday. :)

  11. Rae

    Happy belated birthday! I hope that you had a wonderful birthday. These look AMAZING!

  12. wow! this looks so good! i’m definitely giving this a try soon. i am gluten-free, dairy-free, and sugar-free, so this looks right down my alley. haven’t had anything like strawberry cake in a while :) thanks for posting!

  13. These look so good (and beautiful!!!!)

  14. Wow, these look great. I have been so impressed with raw dessets.

  15. Pingback: Vegetarian, Gluten-Free Recipe Roundup:

  16. Pingback: Friday Fun | Without Adornment

  17. Can these pops be made in advance and/or iced in advance? I am thinking of making them for my daughter’s bday party. Thanks – they look amazing!

    • Yes, you can! Since you have to store them in the fridge anyways, you can easily make them a day or two beforehand. I actually found they taste better a day later as the flavours have had time to combine a bit more! When I made them, they lasted at least 4 days with constant refrigeration.

  18. Mich

    I can’t wait to make these! When you combine all ingredients in first step, do you also blend the coconut in there or is that just for coating the pop? :)

  19. Pingback: Top 11 Recipes of 2011 | Without Adornment

  20. Maryann

    These look so wonderful! The moment I saw them I set out my cashews to soak! I was wondering about how many each batch makes, and how long they will last in the fridge or freezer?

    Thanks so much! Wonderful blog!

    Maryann

    • Thank you!

      I think they made between 10 and 20 – it depends on how large you make them! (Honestly, I don’t remember as this was a while ago!) I think they last for about a week in the fridge and probably longer in the freezer (but I never put mine in the freezer to see if they froze well at all.) Sorry that I can’t be more helpful!

  21. julia

    hi! these sound amazing! just started to make them, but it seems the mixture doesn’t get hard (it’s been fpr 2 hrs or so in the freezer..) any suggestions?

  22. Pingback: Baked Banana Almond Pancakes | The Spiffy Cookie

  23. “Birthdays and Strawberry Cheesecake Raw Vegan
    Cake Pops | Without Adornment” was indeed a great blog post and
    I really was extremely glad to read it. Thank you,Erica

Leave a Reply

