Bean’s Attempt at Gluten Free Pad Thai

I’m assuming that this isn’t your traditional Pad Thai. Why? First off, I’m not Thai and secondly I’ve never had real Pad Thai to compare it to (fear of non-gluten free soy sauce and an allergy to shellfish will do that for you.) So even though I don’t know very much about Thai food, I still want to share this recipe with you because it is delicious. Now I know why most people who have had it liked it – all the different flavours compliment each other so well.

Not is it only delicious, it’s pretty easy to make. The hardest thing was taking pictures with the weird light in my kitchen. Seriously. So, thank you Mr. Bean for encouraging me to try making it for dinner – I hope to add this into my dinner repertoire.

Gluten, Dairy, Egg and Shellfish Free Chicken Pad Thai

Based on this recipe.

2 chicken breasts
3 tbsp. gluten free soy sauce
3 tbsp. corn starch
4 cloves of garlic, minces
2 slices of onion, finely diced
Olive oil (or sesame if you want a more distinctive taste)
Chicken stock
Pad Thai Sauce*
Pepper to taste
Thai rice noodles – enough for two or three people
3 c. fresh bean sprouts
1 c. fresh cilantro, chopped
3 green onions, diced
1/3 c. peanuts, chopped
1 lime, sliced

  1. Cut chicken breasts into strips and place in a container with a lid.
  2. Mix together soy sauce and corn starch. Pour over chicken, put on lid container and give it a good shake. Set aside.
  3. Bring a large pot of water to boil and remove from heat. Add rice noodles and allow to soak until they are soft enough to be eaten but still firm and a bit crunchy. I accidentally overcooked mine, so be careful! Once they are ready, drain and rinse with lots of cold water.
  4. Heat up a bunch of oil in a wok or large frying pan. Add the garlic and onion and cook until fragrant, about a minute.
  5. Add chicken. Stir fry until cooked. When the pan becomes dry, add a tablespoon or two of chicken stock to keep the chicken frying.
  6. Add the noodles to the chicken and add two tablespoons of pad Thai sauce (or more to taste.) Use tongs or two spoons to gently lift and turn noodles (like tossing a salad.)
  7. Stir-fry in this way 1-2 minutes. If you find your wok/frying pan too dry, push noodles aside and add a little more oil to the bottom (but no more broth, or the noodles will become soggy).
  8. Add the bean sprouts and sprinkle pepper to taste.  Add more sauce if desired. Continue tossing until noodles are cooked – they shouldn’t be hard, but sticky and chewy.
  9. Serve noodles into bowls. Top liberally with green onions, cilantro and chopped peanuts. Garnish with lime slices and if desired, squeeze limes over top.
  10. Enjoy!

*You can make your own Pad Thai sauce if you look at the original recipe – I couldn’t find all the ingredients for it, didn’t feel like trying to find an Asian or Indian food store and found a sauce that I could eat, so I just used that.

Have you ever had Pad Thai?

Do you have any suggestions on how I could make it even better? Thank you!

3 Comments

Filed under Food

3 responses to “Bean’s Attempt at Gluten Free Pad Thai

  1. Rae

    Yum! I love Pad Thai. I’ve never made it at home because it seems like a lot of work (and I never have the right ingredients when I feel like it) but I think it is great that you came up with a version that met all of your dietary requirements!

  2. I’m impressed too! A complicated dish and modified to meet your needs. Good for you!

  3. Pingback: SRC: Ginger Beef Stir Fry | Sew You Think You Can Cook

Leave a Reply

