Gluten Free Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

A couple of weeks ago, my sister who is now in Quebec, had a going away pot-luck party. I wanted to make a dessert that my mum and brother could eat as it was unlikely that they could eat anything other than fruit. (Not being able to eat gluten, dairy, soy, eggs and cinnamon will do that for you.) Having already made cinnamon buns (that my mum couldn’t eat anyways), I wanted to make something with a less sugar and more nutritional value. When I found  this recipe, I knew it would work. Everyone in my family loves almond butter and this recipe is so simple (and tasty!) – how could it go wrong?

Gluten Free Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

1 1/4 c. brown rice flour
1/2 c. potato starch
1/2 tsp. xathan gum
2 c. gluten free oats
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 c. raisins
1/3 c. + 2 tbsp. canola or light olive oil
1/2 c. almond butter
3/4 c. white sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. rice milk
2 tsp. vanilla extract

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and line two cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Mix together flours, xathan gum, oats, baking powder, salt and raisins.
  3. Cream together oil, almond butter and sugars.
  4. Add milk and vanilla and beat until smooth.
  5. Add wet ingredients into the dry and mix until smooth. The batter should be somewhat sticky.
  6. Spoon batter onto cookie sheets or if you want to roll batter into balls, place on cookie sheet and squish into disks. Balls should be around golf ball sized. Make sure to leave adequate space (about two inches) as the cookies spread a lot.
  7. Bake for about 15 minutes or until cookies are slightly browned.
  8. Remove from oven and let sit on sheet for about 5 minutes, then remove to cooling rack.
  9. Enjoy!

Note: I did add less sugar than the original recipe called for but the consensus was that it was still too sweet. So, if I make them again, I would only use 1/2 c. white sugar.

What is your favourite kind of cookie?

4 Comments

Filed under Baking

4 responses to “Gluten Free Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  1. Looks very yummy. I will have to try this recipe. Thanks for sharing. From you friend at SITS.

  2. They look terrific. I like that you used almond butter rather than peanut butter which my husband can’t have.

  3. My Daughter is nut and seed free. So, I decided to leave out the nut butter. I also left out the Rice Milk then added about 3/4 cup Coconut Milk instead.
    I left out the sugar too, and added 1/2 cup Raw Amber Agave. You gotta try my new creation! We call it Baby Oaty Biscuit cookies. So soft and moist! I take 2″ biscuits” and put jam in the middle like a sandwich cookie. My daughter LOVES Strawberry!
    Love in Christ,
    Jaime

  4. Pingback: Quinoa Coconut Cookies (Top 12 Free) | Without Adornment

Leave a comment