Happy First Birthday Cake!

My parent’s pastor’s daughter had a celebration for her first birthday on Saturday and I was asked to make a cake. Of course I agreed (when can I pass up the opportunity to make cake?!?) and since I was on pseudo crunch time thanks to lots of work for school,  I chose to do something simple.

It’s a far cry from my “Happy Birthday Jesus” cake in terms of complexity, but I still think it’s pretty.

The bow was made of fondant and the rest is raspberry butter cream frosting. I used a “Hot Pink Raspberry Cake” Recipe – I just made GF substitutions for the flour and added an extra egg. The cake itself was pretty moist and a bit spongy thanks to the gelatin in the jello powder. But it was still quite tasty!

Here’s the birthday girl and her mommy – how’s this for a mother/daughter moment?

Have you ever been asked to make a birthday cake for a non family member? How did it turn out?

P.S. It’s a good idea to not let your husband “dress you up” at children’s birthday parties or else you’ll end up looking like this:

Please learn from my mistake and don’t post embarrassing photos of yourself on your blog because of it.

9 Comments

Filed under Baking

9 responses to “Happy First Birthday Cake!

  1. LOL…yeah learned that lesson too.

  2. I think it turned out beautiful. It’s on my ‘bucket’ list – to learn cake decorating.
    Thanks for your visit last week. Very appreciated.

  3. Nice job, very cute and girly!

    I want to make some more cakes, but I haven’t had any reason to for quite some time now. I’m afraid I’ll get rusty!

  4. Rae

    I guess I am into simple, because I really like the cake. Good job!

    And I would be happy to let my husband dress me up for a children’s party if I looked that cute.

  5. Cake looks yummy, and your photo is a riot! It’s good to laugh!

    Found you on SITS!

  6. That looks beautiful!!!

  7. I have a friend who is going to love your blog – GF birthday cakes! 😉 do you have google friend connect follow?? 😉
    Just Jenn~

  8. Hi, you have interesting post! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is birthday cakes site/blog. It pretty much covers “cakes” related stuff.

  9. Pingback: Vegan Gluten Free Blueberry Birthday Cupcakes with Raw Cashew Icing | Without Adornment

Leave a comment