Happy Birthday Jesus!

It’s t-minus 7 days until Christmas and I thought that I would start our celebrations early with this cake for our bible study. C’mon, even Jesus needs a birthday cake – complete with Angels.

I thought it would be appropriate to make a gingerbread cake, so used this recipe from Good Housekeeping and it didn’t disappoint. I used 2/3 of the recipe, and used 1 c. of brown rice flour, 1/2 c. each of potato and tapioca starch and 1 tsp. xathan gum for the flour and didn’t reduce the number of eggs. So moist and light, even after a day of sitting out!

I had some re-learning experiences with this cake – I remembered why using a cake board for fondant cakes is sooo much easier than a plate and that heating up the fondant in your microwave for a few seconds can make a world of difference. Oh yeah, and how cake decorating can be so much fun!

This cake entertains me as it reminds me of a kid’s production of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone that Mr. Bean and I saw over a year ago. Hagrid was walking out with a baby Harry to give him to the Dursley’s, only to have a young girl behind us say: “Look, Daddy, it’s baby Jesus!”

A very happy birthday, indeed, Jesus. :)

How is your Christmas baking coming along?

15 Comments

Filed under Baking

15 responses to “Happy Birthday Jesus!

  1. i love it! the cake is lovely, and I would never think to make gingerbread cake, but it sounds so yummy!

  2. Such a beautiful cake! My holiday baking this year has done a nosedive, but I’m still going to be making pizzelles, which are an anise flavored Italian cookie that is a Christmas tradition in my family. I’ll be introducing it to my non-Italian inlaws this year!

    And Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest!
    ~HB

  3. I think you and your blog are great! I have an award for you at The Redhead Riter

    http://theredheadriter.blogspot.com/2009/12/some-things-never-change.html

    Thanks and enjoy!

  4. What a beautiful cake. I love the colors.

    Thank you for stopping by during the Sharefest.

  5. My kids and I bake a b-day cake for Jesus every Christmas too! Your cake is gorgeous….love the fondant and the cut-outs! I made MM fondant a few months ago for my kids’ b-day cakes and I had such a hard time using it! I wish I would’ve microwaved it longer b/c obviously that makes a world of difference!

    Found you through SITS!

  6. Amy

    Thanks for stopping by today. I love the cake you made. Happy Holidays..

  7. That is an amazing cake! I don’t know if I’d ever be able to make something so pretty!

    Happy Holidays :)

  8. That is such a cute cake. Great coloring on the fondant too.

  9. Love the cake! For sure, Jesus needs a bday cake too! I Love it!

  10. Love the cake! It is so GREAT to see someone celebrating JESUS on HIS birthday!!! The rest of the world forgot that!

    Stopping by from SITS (sort of…saw yours on someone else from SITS!)

  11. You are a master at designing cakes! I love that :) I know we took the same courses but I can’t decorate a cake to save my life haha I hope your Christmas was lovely as was your New Years :) xoxo

  12. Pingback: Happy First Birthday Cake! « Without Adornment

  13. oh gosh i just love cakes… the moment i landed in your site, i just saw my cursor running to the “cake” section

    Merry Christmas! (almost!)

    thanks for stopping by my blog!

  14. Pingback: Vegan Gluten Free Blueberry Birthday Cupcakes with Raw Cashew Icing | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

