German Apple Plum Cake

Oder Apfel-Pflaumen Kuchen

For some reason, I really wanted to make a German style cake to use some plums I got from the farmer’s market and some apples I got from my in-laws. I couldn’t find any english recipes that struck my fancy, so a google image search helped me choose which cake I desired to make. Unfortunately, the recipe was in German, so with my token knowledge of German and the help of Google Translator, I attempted this recipe.

The most entertaining mistranslation? Dinkelmehl is “Spelt Flour” in English, but spelt is also “spelled” spelled incorrectly, therefore I apparently needed 275g of “spelled.”

Glutenfreie Apfel-Pflaumen Kuchen (Or Gluten Free Apple Plum Cake)

125g butter or margarine
100 g sugar
1 tbsp. of vanilla sugar
3 eggs
1 pinch salt
65g tapioca starch
135g brown rice flour
1 tsp. xathan gum
2 tsp baking powder
2+ tbsp. almond or rice milk
1 tsp. lemon juice
400+g sour apples, peeled and sliced (I used 5 apples and it was too much)
lemon juice
200g plums, sliced in halves (I used 7 prune plums – you could almost use more)
25g tapioca starch
50g brown rice flour
60g butter or margarine
60g sugar
50g sliced almonds or walnuts
1/2 tsp. cinnamon

  1. Grease and flour a 10″ springform pan. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Peel and slice apples. Toss in lemon juice to prevent from browning. Slice plums and set aside.
  3. To create the streusel topping, mix together 25g of tapioca starch, 50g brown rice flour, 60g sugar, almonds and cinnamon. Cut in the 60g of butter with your fingers until crumbly. Set aside.
  4. Cream together 100g butter, 100g sugar and vanilla sugar until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time and continue beating.
  5. Add the salt, flours, baking powder and xathan gum. Then add milk and lemon juice and beat until mixed. Add additional milk until the batter is like cake batter.
  6. Place apples in the cake and set the plums on top of the batter, leaving 1 cm of batter between the fruit and springform pan rim.
  7. Sprinkle the streusel topping over the fruit and cake.
  8. Cook in preheated oven for 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.
  9. Enjoy!

9 Comments

Filed under Baking

9 responses to “German Apple Plum Cake

  1. Michelle

    I love the pictures – you should totally work for a food magazine! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Brown Rice Flour

  3. Pingback: Gluten & Dairy Free Zucchini Apple Bread (this is for you, Ann!) | Psoriatic arthritis Blog

  4. Beautiful cake! I love the combination of apples and plums, and I’d say you did a great job with the translation given how gorgeous it looks! Perfect to transition from Summer to Fall 🙂

  5. Rae

    That looks amazing! And I’m so impressed that you were passionate enough to translate the recipe from German. Wow.

  6. Pingback: The Secret Recipe Club: Without Adornment - Slow Cooker Coconut Chicken Curry

  7. Hi Bean I made this for SRC this month and we loved it! Thanks for a great recipe 🙂

Leave a comment