SRC: A Kitchen Hoor’s Bean and Basil Pesto Penne

A Kitchen Hoor's Bean and Basil Pesto Penne-4For May’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Christie of A Kitchen Hoor’s Adventures. She likes to cook healthy and low fat – and has lost ~100 lbs, which is quite the accomplishment! Christie is definitely an example of how healthy recipes don’t have to be bland or boring!

A Kitchen Hoor's Bean and Basil Pesto Penne-1

Christie has tons (and I mean tons – I’m so impressed with how regularly she posts!) of delicious looking recipes like her Orange Beef Stir Fry, One Pot Paprika Chicken with Spinach, Poutine for Dessert and her Banana Waffles with PB Syrup (I totally need a waffle maker!) She also makes macarons. So much talent and delicious food! It was so hard to choose!

I ended up choosing her Bean and Basil Pesto Penne and I was definitely pleasantly surprised with the results! I’ve always wanted to try pesto, but it seemed really complicated or full of dairy. Fortunately, Christie’s version is simple (2 steps!), vegan and delicious! Mr Bean liked it so much that he had huge amounts of seconds! I upped the recipe a bit so that I would use the entire 398mL (14 oz) can of beans.

A Kitchen Hoor's Bean and Basil Pesto Penne-2

Gluten Free and Vegan Bean and Basil Pesto Penne

1 – 14 oz can of white beans, drained and rinsed (I used navy as I’ve never been able to find Cannellini)
3/4 c. fresh basil
1 oz almonds
1/2+ c. vegetable broth
2 -3 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 tbsp. olive oil
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. ground pepper
1 box of Catelli gluten free Penne (or whatever kind of pasta you want), cooked to al dente

  1. Add beans, basil, almonds, broth, garlic, oil, salt and pepper to food processor and process until smooth, adding more broth if required.
  2. Pour over hot pasta and toss to coat.
  3. Enjoy!

A Kitchen Hoor's Bean and Basil Pesto Penne-5

Christie, it was a treat looking through your blog! 🙂

Please check out the rest of Group D’s recipes by clicking below!

18 Comments

Filed under Food

18 responses to “SRC: A Kitchen Hoor’s Bean and Basil Pesto Penne

  1. Ooh, this sounds fantastic! I love pesto but it can be really caloric/heavy, with a lot of oil and cheese. This lightened-up version looks and sounds SO good. Great choice for the SRC!

  2. Looks delicious!!! _____________ Jennifer L. Ostrander

    >

  3. Pesto is wonderful and it’s great to try different variations, I might have to try this next time once my basil plant gets bigger!

  4. Looks delicious!!! Wonderful combo of flavors.

  5. I am intrigued by the addition of beans to this pesto. It is going on my short list for a Meatless Monday meal.

  6. karen278

    What a perfect pasta dish! I LOVE it and especially that fresh basil too! Karen

  7. Thank you for your kind words!! It’s always fun to read what others write about.

    I loved this one. The beans really add a velvety texture to the pesto. I’m glad you chose this one and excited that you liked it!!

  8. This looks absolutely delicious! Such great pictures!

  9. emmajeanne16

    I have never seen beans in pesto. This look so good. I will have to try. Great SRC pick!

  10. Oh I love the sound of this recipe!! I am saving this one for sure. Yumm!!

  11. This looks delicious! I love your photo of the basil, almonds, and garlic. Great pick this month!

  12. I love pesto and this version with pasta looks so good.

  13. Never had pasta with beans such as this but it looks amazing!

  14. Oh yum this is exactly the kind of thing I adore! Great pick!

  15. Oh wow, adding beans to pesto is such a great idea. Awesome way to sneak in extra protein.

  16. Pingback: Pan Roasted Saffron Tomato Crostini with Labneh - A Kitchen Hoor's Adventures

  17. Pingback: Pan Roasted Saffron Tomato Crostini with Labneh - A Kitchen Hoor's Adventures

  18. Pingback: Marinated Goat Cheese - Tara's Multicultural Table

Leave a comment