SRC: Bewitching Kitchen’s Avocado Orange Salad with Charred Jalapeno Dressing

Bewitching Kitchen Avocado Orange Salad-4For this month’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Sally of Bewitching Kitchen. Sally is Brazilian and a biochemist. She has a beautiful smile, an awesome kitchen, and mad cooking and baking skills! I feel like we have a connection as we both went grey early. 🙂

She has TONS of delicious looking recipes, like this Cauli-Couscous, this simple non-roasted “roasted” broccoli, this ultimate Apple Cake and this granola. She is also a champion bread maker and I am so impressed by all her Brazilian Food!

Bewitching Kitchen Avocado Orange Salad-1

I ended up choosing her Avocado and Orange Salad with Charred Jalapeno Dressing – definitely a winner! I changed it up a bit – I used a blender for the dressing as I’m too lazy to chop things that small), added orange zest and added toasted almonds instead of seared scallops (shellfish = bad for me). I expected it to be fairly spicy, but it wasn’t – just really tasty!

Bewitching Kitchen Avocado Orange Salad-3

Bewitching Kitchen’s Avocado and Orange Salad with Charred Jalapeno Dressing

1/2 cup fresh orange juice (I used 1 orange plus the juice left in the membrane from the segmented orange)
Zest of 1 orange
1 jalapeño
1 small shallot
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
salt & freshly ground pepper
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
2 avocados, sliced
2 oranges, cut in segments
Mixed greens (I used power greens mix)
Toasted Almonds (Optional – I ran out of time and didn’t toast mine, but I definitely recommend it to take the flavour to the next level)

  1. Simmer orange juice in a small saucepan until syrupy and reduced to about 2 Tbsp.  It should take a little over 5 minutes. Let cool.
  2. Roast jalapeño directly over a gas flame (I used my BBQ), turning occasionally, until charred on all sides.  Let cool; remove stem, skin, and seeds.
  3. Place shallot, vinegar, reduced orange juice orange zest, olive and the jalapeño in a single serving blender container (i.e. magic bullet or similar) and blend until all chunks are gone; season with salt and pepper.
  4. Toss avocados, orange segments, salad greens,  and vinaigrette in a bowl.  Serve with toasted almonds if desired.
  5. Enjoy!

Bewitching Kitchen Avocado Orange Salad-2

Sally, it was a joy to read through your blog! I love how your fun personality shines through in all of your posts and your wide array of recipes!

Please check out the rest of Group D’s recipes below:

11 Comments

Filed under Food

11 responses to “SRC: Bewitching Kitchen’s Avocado Orange Salad with Charred Jalapeno Dressing

  1. Oh, how sweet! I love this salad, and your write up made my day, thanks so much!

    glad you have fun browsing the Bewitching, I might make this salad this weekend when we have friends coming over, I was wondering what to serve as a side dish for some juicy steaks…. 😉

  2. That is gorgeous!! It looks so fresh and inviting! Great pick this month – happy reveal day!

  3. shockinglydelicious

    Avos + oranges = classic! Adore Sally’s blog!

  4. Yum! What a refreshing salad! The jalapeno dressing sounds awesome!

  5. This looks lovely and I think I will stick with the scallops since I am lucky enough not to have seafood allergies.

  6. Don’t you just love Sally’s blog? And she is so smart!!! This looks wonderful!

  7. When avocados are involved all bets are off. This looks delicious!

  8. turnips 2 tangerines

    What a taste explosion! Great src pick~ Lynn

  9. Salad is a nice change of pace from some of the heavy comfort foods we’ve been eating…and it’s only the beginning of the long winter season! Great pick this month 🙂

  10. A Kitchen Hoor

    This sounds so light and refreshing. I think it would be the perfect base for a fish or shrimp taco. Excellent choice!

  11. Oranges and avocados are always a winner but that dressing… I need it in my life now! Great pick 🙂

Leave a comment