SRC: 84th & 3rd’s Spiced Saskatoon Berry Tart with Cornmeal Almond Crust

84th&3rd Pie

It’s days like today that I am glad we are a two computer family. (Two people are a family, right?) My laptop decided that it’s going to freeze all the time, so it’s at the shop for a little TLC. Cue Mr. Bean’s laptop – without it this post would have been written on my phone and then be known as the shortest SRC post ever with like one horrible phone photo (boo!). However, it still means that I don’t have my usual photo processing programs available – who knew one could get so attached to taking photos in RAW – so here are my attempts at using the jpg files my camera makes. Fun times!

For July’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired up with JJ of 84th & 3rd. JJ lives in Australia and she also makes lots of vegan as well as gluten and dairy free recipes. (My kind of girl!) She also takes gorgeous photos, which makes it very difficult to choose what to make! Some recipes that caught my eye are her Raw Banana Cream Pie with a Raw Macadamia and Salted Caramel Crust, her Crackling Almond and Coconut Cookies, her Almond Pie Crust (Naturally Gluten Free!), and this delicious and easy looking Muesli!

84th&3rd Pie_2

I ended up choosing a variation of her Spiced Cherry Pie – but instead of cherries, I used Saskatoon Berries. I also used her Almond and Cornmeal Pie Crust as the shell as I love almond flour crusts and thought the idea of using cornmeal with it was interesting. I used blanched almond meal in the crust instead of the unblanched meal that JJ recommended as that’s what I had on hand. I’m used to quite a dense almond flour crust (ala Elana’s Almond Flour Cookbook), so having the crust be so light was unexpected – but that’s what eggs and coconut oil do. I might try it again but instead leave out the egg. It means one would have to probably bake it a bit more before filling, but that’s not a big deal.

84th&3rd Pie_3

Spiced Saskatoon Berry Tart
Based on this Spiced Cherry Pie

2 – 300g packages frozen Saskatoon berries (I didn’t thaw mine, but I think that the cooking time would be less if you did)
1 tbsp. Brandy (or other alcohol)
2 tbsp. lemon juice
3 tbsp. honey
1/4 c. cranberry juice

1 tsp. cinnamon1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/4 tsp. each of cardamom and cloves
1 tbsp. cornstarch
Pinch of Salt

1 pie crust

  1. Place the berries in a medium sized bowl. Add all the liquid ingredients and stir to combine.
  2. Mix together the dry ingredients before adding to the berries. Stir until combined. Set aside to marinade.
  3. Make & pre-bake your Almond and Cornmeal Pie Crust I made mine in a 9″ tart pan, but you could use multiple smaller ones as well. If you’re using a tart pan with a removable bottom, make sure you put it on another pan.
  4. Pour all the berries into the crust and bake in a 350F oven for 30 – 45 minutes (depending on whether your berries were frozen or not) or until the liquid is bubbling, looks thicker and is no longer opaque.
  5. Remove from oven and cool completely before serving.
  6. Serve with ice cream, whipped cream or plain!
  7. Enjoy!

84th&3rd Pie_4

Check out the rest of Group D’s recipes below!

14 Comments

Filed under Baking

14 responses to “SRC: 84th & 3rd’s Spiced Saskatoon Berry Tart with Cornmeal Almond Crust

  1. I love, love, love that you picked these two recipes for SRC!! That pie looks simply divine. Hope your computer comes home soon 🙂

  2. That is beautiful! Great photos and terrific SRC pick! 🙂

  3. What a beautiful, delicious looking summer tart! Great pick this month 🙂

  4. FABULOUS recipe and stunning photos as always! I love tarts, pies and all things fruity and with pastry and this looks amazing, what a GREAT pick for July’s SRC! Karen

  5. Beautiful tart! I’ve never even heard of saskatoon berries, but they sure do look good!

  6. Wow this looks fabulous! Love the sound of that crust. And I might just be able to get my hands on some Saskatoon berries still. Love your adaptation.

  7. just beautiful! great choice..happy reveal day 🙂

  8. This is one of the prettiest pies/tarts I’ve ever seen. Gorgeous! And such a great choice for this time of year with those amazing berries. YUM! Amy @ Fearless Homemaker

  9. Beautiful job! It’s really almost like a bowl of blueberries on a tasty little basket…

    very nice choice, perfect for the season!

  10. I’ve never heard of Saskatoon berries, they look a lot like blueberries. Are they similar in taste? Either way your tart turned out beautiful.

  11. Pingback: Vegetarian, Gluten-Free Roundup: Grilling and Chilling

  12. Pingback: 84th&3rd | Cucumber Salad & a Scandinavian Inspired Brunch Spread

Leave a comment