Vegan Gluten Free Ginger Crackle Cookies

Do you ever have a strong desire to make cookies? Yesterday I was feeling fairly Christmas-y and decided that Christmas cookies were severely lacking in the Bean household and I needed to remedy that! Instead of defaulting to the usual Bean-family Cherry Almond Crisps, I asked Mr. Bean what his favourite cookies were. As you can probably guess, they’re Ginger Crackle Cookies, one of his family staples.

Given that I am unable to make the cookies exactly how his mum does (the gluten free requirement is pesky like that sometimes), I decided to embark on the adventure to make a similar, more healthy gluten free ginger crackle cookie. I also wanted it to be vegan as I’m saving up my dairy and egg quota for eggnog later this week! I think I was pretty successful – the cookies are quite soft on the inside and slightly harder on the outside, chewy and had the appropriate amount of crackling. They are also pretty delicious to boot!

I based my recipe on this one from In the Kitchen with Kath. I made them vegan, refined sugar, soy, cinnamon and gluten free so that everyone in my family could eat them (as frankly neither Mr. Bean nor I need to eat that many cookies ourselves!)

Vegan, Gluten and Refined Sugar Free Ginger Crackle Cookies

50g brown rice flour
75g sorghum flour
25g millet flour
50g sweet rice flour
50g tapioca starch
20g potato starch
1 1/2 tsp. xathan gum
2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
2 tsp. ginger
1/4 – 1/2 tsp. cloves
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon (if you can have it – I didn’t add it)
Scant 1/4 c. soy-free buttery spread, melted and cooled*
Scant 1/4 c. canola oil*
Scant 1/4 c. grapeseed oil*
3/4 c. sucunat sugar, finely ground
1/4 c. molasses
1 egg replacer (or 1 egg if you can eat them)
Sucunat or other granulated sugar – make sure that your sugar is coarse enough so that they don’t dissolve onto the cookie like mine did!

*I just poured about the same amount of each in the same measuring cup until I had 2/3 c. oil. Anything more than that is too much!

  1. Whisk together the flours, xathan gum, baking soda, salt and spices. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, beat the oils, sugar molasses and egg replacer until combined.
  3. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet and beat until well blended and smooth
  4. Cover dough and refrigerate for one hour.
  5. Preheat oven to 375F.
  6. Shape the dough into 1 – 1 1/2″ balls. Dip in granulated sugar then place on parchment lined cookie sheet.
  7. Bake for 8 – 12 minutes.
  8. Then cool on a wire rack.
  9. Store in a plastic bag or sealed container.
  10. Enjoy!

What is your favourite Christmas Cookie?

Shared at: Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays, Traditional Tuesdays and Gluten-Free Wednesdays.

13 Comments

Filed under Baking, Food

13 responses to “Vegan Gluten Free Ginger Crackle Cookies

  1. Your cookies look delicious! Great job! You inspire me. This is one recipe I’ve never fiddled with, but my husband can’t eat sugar or molasses (not diabetic, it’s a food sensitivity thing). You’ve got me thinking I should try making the Ginger Crinkles with maple sugar and maple syrup, which he can eat! Thank you!

  2. Pingback: Vegan Egg Replacer: How To Substitute Eggs in Recipes | Best Vegan Recipies

  3. I’m with you on spiced ginger molasses cookies 🙂 I have a “regular” recipe on my blog that I use and it includes bits of crystalized ginger…mmmm. Extra spicy!

  4. Hurray for gluten free- those look delish. Can’t wait to give them a try.

  5. Not a good idea to look at these photos when I’m hungry! Haha looks verrryy delicious!

  6. I’ve been mulling on making cookies for the last few days.. seeing this has definitely inspired me! I think my home is going to be smelling really yummy soon!

  7. ostranderblog

    Sooo didn’t bake any cookies this year! lol we got a tin of homemade cookies from our German neighbor and that was enough. The photos are amazing and make me want to try them out though 😉 Merry Christmas to the Bean family!

  8. Pingback: Ginger Crinkle Cookies {SRC} – Chocolate & Chillies

Leave a comment