SRC: Enriching Your Kid’s Oatmeal Pancakes with Peach Avocado Salsa

For September’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Shirley of Enriching Your Kid!

I ended up choosing her Oatmeal pancakes and a guest post of Peach and Avocado Salsa. I first tried to make these “Chila’s“, but my chickpea flour had gone bad, so that didn’t work at all.

I essentially used the same recipe for the salsa – I just used lemon juice instead of lime because I didn’t have any lime. With the oatmeal pancakes, I made half a recipe with almond milk as a substitute for the yogourt and water.

Unfortunately, the pancakes and salsa didn’t go very well together – but the pancakes went really well as a peanut butter and jam sandwich and the salsa went REALLY well with tortilla chips.

Please Check out the rest of the Secret Recipe Club’s Group D’s recipes here!

20 Comments

Filed under Food

20 responses to “SRC: Enriching Your Kid’s Oatmeal Pancakes with Peach Avocado Salsa

  1. JennyO

    Your food photos really have become truly BEAUTIFUL, just amazing the color and how the food jumps off the screen.  Love the display, glad the food paired up nicely with alternates. 🙂

    ________________________________

  2. I agree – the photos make your pancakes and salsa look quite delicious, even if they don’t go so well together! You inspire me to try out some new ideas 🙂

  3. Fantastic presentation! Thank you for trying not just one but 2 recipes. Great job!

  4. What an interesting flavor combination! Sounds delish!

  5. Beautiful photography. But, yah, I’m pretty sure my pancake eater would look at me with the stink eye if I tried to put salsa on his pancakes. 😉

  6. It’s always fun to try new combinations even if they don’t work – keep experimenting! The salsa looks really good!

  7. What a great idea to put salsa on pancakes! Even if they didn’t go too well together because of modifications it looks great! 🙂

  8. That salsa looks amazing — I’d love to pair it with chicken or pork, too!

  9. These sound absolutely AMAZING. Wish I had that plate in front of me right now!

  10. Haha…well, they both LOOK yummy and the salsa on the pancakes looks pretty (C:

  11. Wow what a beautiful presentation!!

  12. At first I didn’t think those two sounded good together, but when I saw the picture, it was so beautiful I changed my mind. And then I read that it actually didn’t go well together after all, haha! Your pictures are so pretty they could make me eat anything!

  13. iamahoneybee

    wow I’d never think of this combo. But I guess it’s good that you tried it and experiement! ha
    That salsa looks great!

Leave a Reply

