SRC: Shockingly Delicious’ Swedish Cucumber Salad

For August’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Dorothy of Shockingly Delicious! Dorothy likes to try out lots of new and different ingredients and even gives you steps on how to create your own recipe! She has TONS of delicious looking recipes including these 5-ingredient gluten free flourless peanut butter cookies, Smoky Baby Back Ribs in the Crockpot and this Summer Mango Caprese Salad with Truffle Salt! Ultimately I ended up making her Swedish Cucumber Salad – Mr. Bean had a similar salad while we were in Sweden so I thought I would give it a try!

I made it while I was out at the cabin and genius me forgot to bring the dill. Oops. What is Swedish food, especially salads, without dill!?! Well I did my best by adding some Italian herbs and extra parsley. I also used red onion to make it more visually appealing.

Mr. Bean really liked it – it only gets better with time as the cucumbers marinate, so I definitely recommend letting it sit for a while before eating it. I also got the request to make it again (this time with the dill- haha), which means it was a success!

What’s your favourite kind of salad?

Please check out the rest of Secret Recipe Club’s Group D’s recipes below!



14 Comments

Filed under Food

14 responses to “SRC: Shockingly Delicious’ Swedish Cucumber Salad

  1. shockinglydelicious

    Bean.
    What a great job you did with my cuke salad! Be sure to try it with the dill, since that really makes it, although I am certain your herbs were delicious, too. Wonderful photography!

  2. I had Dorothy’s blog last time and I was spoilt for choice! This looks like a lovely, refreshing salad. Great SRC pick!

  3. How pretty! I have a ton of cucumbers that this would be perfect for! Thanks!

  4. shockinglydelicious

    Bean, I can’t see the thumbnail photo in the links, using either of 2 browsers. Can you? If not, maybe remove it and reimport it? Just a suggestion.

  5. Oh my goodness – your pictures are gorgeous! Love how sharp and colorful they are :)
    I bet this was great. I love cucumbers – I haven’t had them in forever!

  6. Being Finnish, I love this salad :) I’m also a sucker for a Caeser.

  7. This reminds me of a salad my grandmother used to make. Looks delicious!! Thanks for sharing :)

  8. What a pretty salad! Looks so refreshing…great SRC pick!

  9. This looks like a great recipe for seasonal produce! Very refreshing!

  10. I love cucumber salads in the summer time, so refreshing and delicious. This one looks like a great way to use up the herbs growing rampant in my garden too!

  11. Oh yum, this looks amazing! And your pics are absolutely stunning!

  12. I have 3 cukes in the fridge and dill in the herb garden. This will be perfect for our Labor Day BBQ!

  13. Rituparna

    Yum yum …
    I have been on a salad frenzy lately & this made my evening. Gr8 SRC pick. Love Dorothy’s blog. It’s indeed Shockingly Delicious !

  14. Pingback: 84th&3rd | Cucumber Salad & a Scandinavian Inspired Brunch Spread

Leave a Reply

