Vegan, Gluten and Refined Sugar Free Blackberry Rhubarb Crumb Cake

Happy Belated Easter everyone! I hope you had a wonderful day celebrating the resurection of our Lord!

Mr. Bean and I were able to have Easter dinner with my family, which was really nice. I also had the opportunity to bake in the afternoon with tasty results! I really miss baking, so I’m so glad that I took the afternoon to do it – with great results as well!

I knew that I wanted to make a cake, use up some frozen rhubarb I had and make it healthy(er), so I decided to revamp this Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake I made a few years ago. It was a success – my family can definitely attest to this as most of the 10″ cake disappeared with my brother happily saving the leftovers for later. I’m glad to say that making it healthier by using half of the sugar, subbing applesauce for half the oil and adding blackberries didn’t detract from the taste. I would say that the stronger flavours of the sucanat and palm sugars definitely complemented the tart rhubarb and blackberries! If you have a chance, I would definitely recommend making this as you won’t be disappointed!

Vegan, Gluten, Soy and Refined Sugar Free Blackberry Rhubarb Crumb Cake

1/2 c. brown rice flour
1/2 c. millet flour
1/2 c. sorghum flour
1/2 c. tapioca starch
1/4 c. almond flour
1/4 c. potato starch
1 tsp. xathan gum
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/3 c. grapeseed oil
1/3 c. applesauce
1/2 c. sucanat sugar
1/4 tsp. palm sugar
1 egg replacer  (1 1/2 tsp. replacer and 2 tbsp almond milk)
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 c. almond milk (or other dairy free milk)
1/2 c. chopped almonds
1 1/2 – 2 c. chopped rhubarb (I used frozen – I thawed & drained it)

Topping:
1/4 c. almond flour
1/4 c. sucanat sugar
1/4 c. to 1/3 c. brown rice flour (to make sure the topping is crumbly)
1 tsp. ginger
1 1/2 to 2 tbsp. coconut oil, melted

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and grease the bottom of a 10″ springform pan.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the topping: the flours, sugar, ginger and coconut oil until crumbly. Set aside
  3. In a medium bowl, beat sugars, oil, applesauce, egg replacer, and vanilla together until smooth.
  4. Combine flours, xathan gum, salt, baking soda and baking powder; add to sugar mixture alternately with milk. Beat until smooth.
  5. Stir in rhubarb, blackberries and almonds. Pour into prepared pan.
  6. Sprinkle topping on cake.
  7. Bake cake for 40 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Make sure to poke in multiple places as the batter around the fruit takes longer to bake.
  8. Place on a cooling rack and remove the sides of the pan to allow it cool without getting soggy.
  9. Serve once cooled and enjoy!

How was your Easter? Did you do anything or eat anything special?

9 Comments

Filed under Baking

9 responses to “Vegan, Gluten and Refined Sugar Free Blackberry Rhubarb Crumb Cake

  1. Gah! This is gorgeous! I am obsessed with rhubarb. My grandma always grew it and we grew up helping her make rhubarb pies. Now I am inspired to so something new with it! Beautiful!

  2. I just thought of you today when I was checking out some recipes with glutenous rice. It’s so good. So sad you can’t try it out. But this one is definitely yummy!

  3. Pingback: Attack of the MilkBread Monster… | Neither Bread Nor Milk

  4. Pingback: Winter dried fruit cake « Chef Doru's Blog

  5. Pingback: Weekly Gluten-Free Roundup – April 15, 2012 « Celiac Kitchen Witch

  6. Pingback: Your Questions About Gluten Free And Sugar Free | Gluten Free Guide

  7. Pingback: Slow Cooker Coconut Chicken Curry - My Judy the Foodie

Leave a Reply

