Quick Update

Almost two weeks ago, I started a new job at an engineering firm. A lot has happened since then:

  • I had to redo my petroleum safety course as well as H2S Alive. H2S is nasty stuff that can kill you very easily if you’re not careful.
  • I’ve started working on a gas plant expansion. It’s pretty neat and a very large project, so making the schedule for it is kind of crazy (especially when you don’t know how long things generally take.)
  • I’ve had my work computer crash and lost some work, which I wasn’t impressed with. At least it was only 1.5 weeks of work instead of months. Lesson learned: save everything to the network!
  • We celebrated two different friends 30th birthdays. Mr. Bean is next, so soon it’s time to start scheming about what to do for his.
  • I threw a baby shower for one of my very good friends. It was really cute and everyone seemed to have a good time, so I’m pleased with that. Some pictures of decorations and stuff will come later!
  • I haven’t taken very many photos at all – I’ve been focusing on work, eating, exercise and sleeping, so there isn’t much brain power left for creativity at the moment. Maybe now that the baby shower is over it will get better – I don’t want my camera to start catching cobwebs!

What have you been up to over the last week and a bit?

6 Comments

Filed under Life

6 responses to “Quick Update

  1. Thanks for the update – I had been waiting to see how things were going 😉 I look forward to seeing the baby shower pictures! xx

  2. I’m often amazed at how much time being a grown up takes. It’s why I sometimes disappear from my blog. Especially because I do grad school on top of everything.

    I’ve been thinking of continuing on to a PhD in BioEngineering (my current Masters is in Plastics engineering with focus on Medical plastics – I would only need to take a few more classes to have the Masters in Bioengineering too), my hubby looked at me and was like “why would you want to be a Dr?”.

    You’ll find a routine again and find time for personal hobbies again.

  3. Good to hear you are busy with the new job 🙂 We will be here when you catch your breath, no worries. Have a great weekend!

  4. ostranderblog

    There you are busy working girl. Sorry to hear about the computer crash! Even a day’s work is a scary loss. Seriously sounds fantastic though – the challenges! I hear you on the lack of time to photograph. During the week just isn’t time. Glad you checked in to send an update, I’m really glad to hear you had the chance to spend time with your friends!

  5. Wow, what a busy season. Sorry about the computer crashing! Stinks that we are so dependent on technology, but if something goes wrong we lose so much hard work! Hope you are taking good care in this new (slightly more busy 🙂 season!

  6. Sounds like you’ve been having a busy month! Mine is equally busy! I’m working on a huge project and I hope to finish it soon!

    You take care!

Leave a Reply

