SRC: Colourful Salad by Chocolate & Dreams

This was my first month of participating in the Secret Recipe Club! I was paired with Rituparna of Chocolate & Dreams, who is a food blogger who lives in India. She has lots of beautiful desserts and yummy looking Indian food!

I decided to make a half batch of her colourful salad. (I really wanted to make something delicious like these whiskey balls or one of her cakes, but given that me, sugar, dairy and coconuts are having a love/hate relationship at the moment, it didn’t seem like the wisest idea. Hopefully another time!) I didn’t have any peas or salad dressing that I could eat, so I left out the peas and created a tasty vinaigrette with equal parts of honey, oil and apple cider vinegar.


This salad was spectacular and very pretty – I almost didn’t want to let Mr. Bean eat any because it was so good! The honey really took the edge off the red onion and hot cabbage – something I wasn’t expecting but made the salad that much better! I would definitely recommend giving this salad a try.

I really enjoyed the secret recipe club – it was a great experience being able to look through someone elses blog and at all their tasty looking recipes. After looking through Rituparna’s blog, it makes me want to find a store that sells Indian food ingredients to be able to make more of her recipes!

Secret Recipe Club

14 Comments

Filed under Food

14 responses to “SRC: Colourful Salad by Chocolate & Dreams

  1. ostranderblog

    Ohh how fun is that! Sounds very exciting to be able to share recipes and try new ones. This looks yummy, I’ll have to take a look over at that site.

  2. I love the twist you gave to that dressing. That salad looks delicious & healthy.

  3. Hi! I just found you through the secret recipe club. Love your blog! .

    We would love to invite you over to visit our blog and link up to our weekly themed blog hop called Everyday Sisters Sharing Sundays. This week’s theme is SWEET and SAVORY! We hope to see you there. http://everydaysisters.blogspot.com/2011/10/everyday-sisters-sharing-sunday-19.html

    Ellen

  4. This looks so bright and healthy, I love it. Your blog looks so wonderful too, I have to do some exploring. :)

  5. Dropping by from the SRC. What a pretty salad, and the thought of adding honey to the dressing really intrigued me.

  6. Sweet and colorful and welcoming. Everything a salad should be!

  7. That is one gorgeous looking salad. Welcome to the SRC.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my Group ‘A’ & ‘C’ SRC recipes this month: Levain Bakery Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies and Thin Mint Irish Coffee.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  8. I’m from Group C but I’m an honorary Group D member this week, welcome to SRC. I did a salad also!

  9. iamahoneybee

    yum! I love refreshing salads like this!

  10. Looks sooooooooo good – my mouth watered just by looking at the pictures!!!

  11. Wow this salad looks absolutely delicious, what a great choice for SRC! Love your blog, so glad to be a new follower! xoxo

  12. Secret Recipe Club sounds interesting!

  13. Eilee

    Beautiful salad! Thanks for posting!

  14. Pingback: Colourful Salad: Without Adornment | The Secret Recipe Club

Leave a Reply

