Hornby Island Adventures

The most exciting thing Mr. Bean and I did while on Vancouver Island was visit Hornby Island, a small island off the coast of Vancouver Island in the Strait of Georgia. It’s a hippie island with lots of cute art places, farms and those kinds of things.

Given that my parents are geologist, I have to show case some of the interesting rock formations as there are lots of them. It’s almost difficult to believe that these are real.

My "Shadows" SOOC

This trip had a few firsts:

  • Mr. Bean’s first time to the islands
  • The first time we ever picked up a hitchhiker
  • The first time that bacon was ordered on a salad at the fish n’ chips stand we went to
  • We ate the first blackberries of the season

Okay, maybe we technically didn’t pick up a hitchhiker. To get to Hornby Island, you have to first take a ferry to Denman Island, drive across the island and catch another ferry to Hornby. While we were waiting in the first ferry line, a girl who works at one of the restaurants on Hornby asked for a ride across Denman. She was really nice, not creepy and quite helpful at recommending places for us to check out. For the record, we would never actually stop and pick up a person on the side of the road as that is illegal.

View from Helliwell Park - Click for Larger Image

There’s two things that I’m sad about: that I forgot to take my camera to the beautiful white sand beach at Tribune Bay where I went swimming and that we weren’t there when the stand with homemade rhubarb vanilla ice cream was open. I guess we’ll just have to go back!

Where do you want to go back and visit?

Almost all these shots are Straight Out Of the Camera. Go and see all the other Shadow SOOCs over at Jill’s blog!

9 Comments

Filed under Photography

9 responses to “Hornby Island Adventures

  1. ostranderblog

    YUM.. seriously? Rhubarb ice cream??? Oh wow that sounds fantastic. The photos are lovley, your pano with crop really had great composition. And its nice to see you both in a pic together!! Sounds like a great time! Thanks for clarifying the hitchhiker! LOL … and no your not weird, I love the criminal museum, I’ve been at least 3 times myself!

  2. These photos are amazing!!! Those rock formations are just incredible!!
    Thanks for sharing them. 🙂

  3. Very good photos. Excellent exquisite framing and focus very clearly. I love the art created by the force of the sea and its ability to capture it photographically. My photos are not so grandiose, and his materials are simple to view, then do not use any technique tweaks or alterations. What you see in the picture is what I saw through the viewfinder when shooting. Greetings.

  4. Those rocks are too cool! Almost unbelievable. Great shots and what a great time it looks like!

  5. Wonderful shots 🙂 I would be glad to see you on PicStory with this nice water. So if you like…. lg tina

  6. What a beautiful place! I will certainly have to put that one on our must see’s.

  7. These photos are all gorgeous! I want to go there! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Shadows Edit | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

