The Sky’s the Limit!

f/22, 3 sec, ISO 200

Unsurprisingly, (at least to me!) the phrase “the sky’s the limit” isn’t applied to my life very frequently. In fact, I find myself more debilitated by the fear of failure and “what if’s?” more often than I’d like to admit.

f/18, 5 sec, ISO 200

Lately, I’ve been in a crossroads (rut?) in my life and I’m not certain what direction I should be heading. Engineering? Photography? Teacher? Baker? Mother? None of the above? After a few tearful conversations with Mr. Bean about me wanting to do what God wants me to do but having not much of an idea what that was, he commented “sometimes you have to make a decision and do something and if it’s the wrong direction, God will come along and say “no, no, no!” and puts you in the right direction.”

f/22, 5 sec, ISO 200

Huh. Silly as it is, that was exactly what I needed to hear, especially for my afraid-of-risk-taking and most-likely-to-wallow-in-uncertainty-seemingly-forever self.

f/22, 2 sec, ISO 200

What am I thinking of taking a risk on, you might ask. Well, I’m thinking of opening my own photography business. There, I said it so it must be true – just like how nothing really happens unless it says so on facebook. (haha) I’m starting off by doing some research on how one opens their own business and by gathering advice from professionals from online as well as from the library. (Have any advice you’d like to share? I’d love to hear it!)

f/22, 2.5 sec, ISO 200

I’m trying not to get caught up in the “what if’s?” and stress out about things like brainstorming a name, how to ask people for money and how much, how I should grow my portfolio, how to ask people for money and how much, about websites and branding, how to ask people for money and how much, and those kind of things.

f/22, 2.5 sec, ISO 200

I guess I know that I’m entering this as I think it’s where God is leading me to go but if it’s not, he’ll open the doors that I’m supposed to be going through. I know with God all things are possible, so perhaps the sky’s the limit after all?

Have you taken any risks lately?

These Straight Out Of the Camera shots are fireworks from the finale of the grandstand show at the Calgary Stampede. We are lucky enough to have friends who live nearby and allowed me to take photos from their deck. They are my submission for this week’s “The sky’s the limit” theme at Good to Wow: Shoot and Edit.

16 Comments

Filed under Photography, Thoughts

16 responses to “The Sky’s the Limit!

  1. Yes! I totally agree with your husband’s advice. Sometimes you do just have to start doing something. Even if it’s not what God wants for you, it will still be a learning experience! If He’s given you the desire to have a photography business, He has a reason. I think you have tremendous talent 🙂

    From what little I know, it sounds like you’re getting off to a good start by researching, etc. Have you ever heard of Inc. Magazine? My husband and I both enjoy reading it, even though much of it is directed towards entrepreneurs and new business owners. It’s a great resource, and so is the website, Inc.com. You could also ask my friend Melaina for advice. She and her husband have a photography business. She blogs at http://melainarae.blogspot.com/, and she’s super sweet. 🙂

  2. Ya know, Mr. Bean’s right…and I hate when the men are right. I remember choosing my career path and I’m not sure it’s exactly the path I was meant to head down…but God will use whatever path you’re on to do his work. You’re in good hands. Now for these firework shots…love. They need nothing more!

  3. Wise Mr. Bean! 🙂 I say go for it…you are in a very, very blessed situation to have the freedom of so many choices, and I think it’s great you can do something that you love and are clearly very talented at. If you want advice about websites, logos, branding, and being Google-able, talk to Scott Refvik! He does GREAT website/branding stuff, and he can probably tell you a few things about running your own business. 🙂

  4. Also, on the collecting money front, a contract is a great way to go – say if you’re going to do someone’s wedding – have a form contract that you just change the details in to fit the situation – having all that stuff set out up front makes life much easier. If you want to talk to a lawyer about that sort of thing, call the number on this website…http://www.lawsociety.ab.ca/public/lawyer_referral.aspx. The operator wil give you contact info for three lawyers who will each give you a half an hour of free legal advice. It’s a great way to see what your options are without spending any money! 🙂

  5. Very, very pretty. I almost did a fireworks shot myself and then forgot I had them. LOL

  6. I completely agree with Mr. Bean on this one. It’s better to head down a path and then be redirected than to never begin your journey at all. I think opening your own photography business will be great for you!
    P.S. I actually emailed you yesterday about getting some pictures taken 🙂

  7. Based on these photographs, I believe you’re heading toward your talent! do what you love, do what you are good at….that’s the advice I tell my teens!

  8. These are incredible shots! What a lovely vantage point and great captures!

    There is a lot of advise on-line on how to open a business, specifically a photography business, the advise I hear over and over is: have a complete plan in place before starting, dot all your t’s and I’s, and don’t sell yourself short. Set the price you will need and if you feel you need to build your portfolio offer shoots at a “discount” so people feel they are getting a good deal (which they are) but understand it is for a period of time until your “real rates” go into effect. You clearly have talent; let God use it. If you seek God every step of the way He will guide your path.

  9. Wow, girl… these are incredible! I wouldn’t change a thing! I understand where you are. Prayers for you that God’s will be revealed to you. Hang in there!

  10. I have to agree with the Mr! The Lord will guide you. Sometimes you can venture down a path & while it’s not the one he may want you on for the permanent- you meet certain people or learn certain things that take you to the next part of the journey. I think you do some incredible work & I am excited to see where you go. I like Cedars advice with how to build a portfolio- that is a great idea.

    My hubs & I talked about this last night. I don’t feel I am ready- (I don’t even have a real DSLR yet for crying out loud) he keeps telling me to figure out how to make money at what I am doing (be it the photos or the blogging) because I am spending so much time at it- he thinks I may as well earn money doing it. I certainly know I have way too much to learn yet- but it’s funny to see the perception from outside my head. I am flattered that he thinks I can do it- but also think he’s overshooting right now 🙂

  11. La.

    This is fabulous. Honestly, just be less than a studio to start with. We just went to Kiddie Portraits or something because they snagged us at babies r us for a free 10 x 13. I was SHOCKED at how expensive everything was. I have photographer friends that will shoot the fam, put the pics on a disk, edit them, and charge me 100 bucks. And they want like 360 bucks. um what???? In order to get the disk you have to at least pay 200! Ridiculous. I mean, put your name on it and then give me the disk and then I can order from somewhere else. Ya know?

  12. I really love the vibrency of the red in the 4th picture.
    I wish you luck on the possiblity of starting a new business. Mr. Bean is right and you will find the right path.

  13. Great shots! I can relate to what you shared. Your husband gave some great advice.

  14. Pingback: Stampede Fireworks Edit | Without Adornment

  15. My high school friend opened her own photography studio in her house about 5+ years ago. You can see her on FB http://www.facebook.com/#!/DreamImagePhotographyLtd She would have advice for starting out 🙂 As for how much to ask for your services, ask yourself how much do you value your time? What do you need to cover your costs? With experience you can always raise your prices. Maybe see if you could work something with SAIT for graduations or alumni Link magazine? Something to get the ball rolling.

    What ever you do, I wish you luck (and peace of mind)!

  16. Rae

    First of all, I never congratulated you on your new business venture! Obviously I don’t really know your situation, but from what I’ve seen on your blog it seems so perfect for you!

    Secondly, ugh. I really have no idea about these things and am often at the point of simply getting through the day. 😦

    But the real point of this comment is to direct you to a blogger whom you might like and who is currently posting about something sort of related: http://kathleenbasi.com/2011/07/13/a-history-of-anxiety-part-1-origins/ I hope it ends up being relevant to you and what you’re dealing with!

Leave a Reply

