Bean’s Trip to Europe – Part 3

I realized yesterday that Mr. Bean and I got back from our trip to Europe a year ago, which reminded me how I never actually finished my recaps. (Whoops!) I don’t really want to do them in full, but I will share some highlights with a few photos in another few posts. This following post I actually wrote last year but never published it.

You can read the first two parts of the saga here: Part 1 – Stockholm and Part 2 – Motala.

Göteborg

Or why I’m happy that I live in a land locked province.

After Motala, Mr. Bean and I packed up our Volvo S40 and headed to Göteborg (or Gothenburg in English.)

The weather in Goteborg wasn’t spectactular when we first arrived. We walked maybe 10 blocks to a restaurant and I was soaked, even with my umbrella. Once we got back to our hotel, I spent two hours under our duvet with all my sweaters on (plus toque!) in an attempt to warm up. I’m really a pansy when it comes to being cool and wet – you think that since I’m Canadian I’d be better with the cold, but I’m a prairie girl through and through and I have difficulty dealing with and being out in non-stop rain.

The restaurant, Smaka, was quite good – Mr. Bean got to enjoy a lot of traditional Swedish food. Like Pickled Herring:

And Swedish Meatballs:

Goteborg has a lot of really neat museums, such as the Universeum. It’s essentially a science centre that is perfect for kids with ADHD (in my opinion) as the exhibits are interesting, varied and there is even an exhibit that is “learning through and with physical activity.” Plus, there were lots of animals and sea creatures.

In front of a Sami tent
The most awesome bird ever.
The Husqvarna Shark

Another museum we visited was one that first made me very happy that I live in a landlocked province and secondly instilled in me a new level of respect for people who work in the navy. Yep, it was a Maritime museum, where we were able to tour through about 15 different ships.

Ahoy Land!
Anyone get the reference for this?

One of the ships was a submarine. This is how I feel about them:

But, the best thing about this particular submarine is that the crew got to sleep next to their torpedoes.

I can’t sleep without my torpedoes!

It was quite a novelty, but by the 15th ship, the diesel smell, all the ladders and all the weird doorways I definitely was very certain about how I felt about boats. I am SO glad that I live in a landlocked province!

We also took the trolley out to see the North Sea (unfortunately not the angry trolley though.)

Eurotrip-112

Eurotrip-110

There we have it: the recap from Gothenberg. It’s always interesting looking back at photos from a while ago to see how much you’ve changed: I’m so glad that I’ve lost weight and I think I like my hair a bit longer.

How do you feel about looking at old(ish) photos of yourself?

9 Comments

Filed under Life

9 responses to “Bean’s Trip to Europe – Part 3

  1. Hey there! Looks like you had fun, despite learning you didn’t really like ships! 🙂 And I’m thinking the movie reference is Armageddon, right??? 🙂 I guess, though, on that movie it wasn’t technically a torpedo, but it still carried a weapon!

    Remember way way back in April when you asked about help with curves in lightroom? Well, I finally had an opportunity to do a bit of research tonight and found these two links that were uber helpful — and I hope they help you too!! I used the tips and wow! I’m thinking on my sooc shots, just doing a curves adjustment and maybe a touch of sharpening and I’ll be set! Love it now that I really know how to use it! 🙂 So, let me know if they help you! (you got my email up there!)
    Here’s the first link (granted it’s talking while LR3 was in beta form, but it still applies) : http://lightroomsecrets.com/2010/03/get-to-the-point/
    And here’s a link to a lr blog I just found that I’m really enjoying. Download the video (I did and watched all 7 min — wow! I learned so much from it!): http://lightroomkillertips.com/2006/learning-about-the-tone-curve/

    Have a great night!

  2. ostranderblog

    These are great! Love that you did a reflect back, Its amazing how time flies sometimes. You guys did some serious miles while you were here!!

    As far as looking at old photos there are some from when I first dropped my weight in 2003 I swear I wish I could figure out HOW I dropped that weight [its crawling back on board] but I love finding ones that you forgot about, its fun to pop through the memory. Sometimes its sad, or there is someone you forgot and realize you miss in a odd sort of way… interesting.

    • We really did travel a lot while we were there. I think next time we’re in Europe, we’re just going to pick a few places and spend more time there instead of trying to see as much as possible!

  3. Looks like you had a wonderful trip!! Love all of your photos–particularly the food ones, of course. 🙂

  4. La.

    Ohhhhhhhhhhh, I miss living abroad!!!!! Everything looks fabulous! Well, EXCEPT the pickled herring. It stinks. I’m Swedish…I know! But the meatballs look truly delish! I am going to read parts one and two right now!

  5. Pingback: Bean’s Trip to Europe – Part 4 | Without Adornment

  6. Pingback: Bean’s Trip to Europe – Part 5 | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

