Gluten Free Raw Cranberry Mango Nut Bars

Do you ever worry about food when you’re away from home for a few days? Like about how you don’t know if you’ll be able to eat anything and how frequently you’ll be able to eat? I do. I know now it’s irrational as most places are good at accommodating allergies and it’s easy enough to find food in grocery stores, but I still fret over it and end up bringing a bunch of my own food on trips. It doesn’t really help that I can get extremely irritable, tetchy and light-headed when I get hungry – Mr. Bean can attest to this!

This past weekend Mr. Bean’s brother got married in Banff (pictures to come!) and (unsurprisingly) I was worried about food. Being my pro-active self,  I decided to bring some snacks to munch on and help keep me from becoming a hungry grumpy pants. As well as some apples and fruit source bars, I wanted to make something full of protein and fibre, not full of sugar and something to help keep me from feeling deprived for not getting all the fudge and chocolate we usually get when we go to Banff. Inspired by this  oat free granola bar recipe and my energy bars from last summer, I started adding various nuts and dried fruits and came up with this delicious creation.

Gluten Free Raw* Cranberry Mango Nut Bars

3/4 c. raw almonds, chopped
3/4 c. raw cashews, chopped
1/4 c. raw walnuts, chopped
1/4 c. shredded coconut
1/3 c. apple juice sweetened dried cranberries
1/3 c. non-sweetened dried mango, chopped
1/3 c. almond butter
1/4 c. raw honey (more if not staying together)
2 – 3 tbsp. coconut oil

  1. Grease an 8 x 8″ pan with vegetable oil. Set aside
  2. In a medium saucepan, combine almond butter, honey and coconut oil. Heat over low heat until coconut oil is melted and mixture is creamy. Note: since I did not boiling the honey, these bars are softer than your average granola bar.
  3. Dump in the rest of the ingredients and mix until well combined.
  4. Scrape into the greased pan. Using a spatula, spread mixture out and press until the bars are an even thickness.
  5. Put in the freezer for 2 hours to solidify. Part way though freezing time, cut into bars.
  6. Once they have solidified, store in the fridge.
  7. Enjoy!

As it turns out my worrying about food was completely unnecessary as I was very well fed this weekend (I probably ate enough for two people – oops!) but the two times where I started to feel my hunger induced grumpiness coming on, I ate one of these bars and some fruit and life was good again. I guess one could say I’m easy to please. ;)

Are you like me and get really grumpy when you’re really hungry?

*Please note that while most of the ingredients I used were raw, I am assuming the rest of the ingredients are as well. If they actually are not, please accept my apologies and let me know what you decide to substitute them with! :)

This recipe has been submitted to: Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays, Hearth and Soul Hop 48 and Gluten Free Wednesdays!

21 Comments

Filed under Food

21 responses to “Gluten Free Raw Cranberry Mango Nut Bars

  1. Those look yummy! My husband is a bear when he gets hungry! Especially if we are driving. We’ve even had arguments over whether he should pull over and eat because he gets so grumpy!

    • Haha. Mr. Bean and I have definitely had lots of discussions while travelling whether or not I should get food (usually at exorbitant prices causing the hesitation) so I am less grumpy. I don’t know why, but I hate buying expensive food, especially when I could have gotten it for much cheaper if I had brought it myself. :P

  2. Wow, this looks so good Bean! I’m printing it off right now!

  3. Yes, I get really cranky/ hyper-focused on food when hungry. Sometimes the husband knows to not ask me questions because my one track mind cannot concentrate on anything but getting food in me! I also can identify with thinking about food too much when we travel. We usually bring a grocery bag full of food from home even if we are just going somewhere overnight. Now our fam knows to make room in the fridge for our food when we’re coming over :)
    And these bars look super tasty, btw!

  4. I am just like you when it comes to traveling. In fact, I’ll be traveling this week and have been planning what food I will take. These bars look delicious and are just the kind of thing I like to pack.

    • It’s good to know that I’m not the only one! The first time I went on a road trip with my husband (then boyfriend), I was so surprised that he bought food every time we stopped at a gas station. When I was growing up, my family would always bring our own food and it was a treat if we bought something to drink when we stopped for gas. I guess there are pros and cons to both methods! :)

  5. These look delicious!

  6. These look like the perfect healthy snack! I am definitely like you and get very grumpy when I don’t eat. I always feel like such a child–my family and friends always know when they need to feed me, ha!

  7. This recipe is great! and the photos are beautiful-as always!
    Thanks!

  8. I will surely love this! =D Hubby gets irritable too when he’s hungry. Haha.. I think most of us do!

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

    • I think we all do to a certain degree – I’m just worse than others. haha. There are some people who forget to eat, which is something I totally do not understand.

  9. These look great!!! Thank you for sharing and linking back to my blog! I can’t wait to try mango in my next batch!!!

    THANKS AGAIN!!!

  10. I get incredibly grumpy when I’m hungry, and I also find it very difficult to concentrate so I know exactly what you mean! Your Cranberry Mango Nut Bars sound amazing – so delicious and so healthy! Thank you for sharing them with the Hearth and Soul Blog Hop.

  11. Pam

    You have such a beautiful blog!

  12. Pingback: Mostly Raw Gluten Free Vegan Coconut Tarts with Berries (GAHIGF) | Without Adornment

  13. Just wanted to let you know that I made these awesome bars for Secret Recipe Club this month! They turned out great and I loved them, as well as being assigned your blog this month! You can see my post here: http://thegingeredwhisk.blogspot.com/2012/05/cranberry-mango-nut-bars-gluten-free.html

  14. Pingback: SRC: The Gingered Whisk’s Grilled Apple Pie | Without Adornment

  15. Pingback: 15 Healthy and Energy Bites

Leave a Reply

