Edited Green Photo

Well, I guess God responded to my complaints as the last two days have been absolutely beautiful, with much of the snow melting away. I guess I shouldn’t hold my breath as it’s supposed to snow again today and on the weekend, but I’m just going to pretend that’s not going to happen. (Wouldn’t that be nice?)

Despite my complaining, I should be thankful that it’s no longer like this outside:

Since all our memories are now refreshed on how drab the SOOC shot looked like, let’s get to the edits:

  1. I added a high-pass filter with a radius of 40. I then changed the opacity to 30% and the blending mode to linear light.
  2. Added a hue/saturation adjustment layer. Using the little hand (the targeted adjustment tool), I clicked on the green needles (which ended up adjusting the yellow) and moved the cursor around until I reached the desired saturation. I also played around with the hue slider to make it slightly less yellow.
  3. I sharpened using “unsharp mask” under filters–>sharpen with the settings: 120, 1, 3.

Since I didn’t get a chance to play with the artistic brushes last week with my flower, I wanted to today. Apparently to use them you have to make sure that your bit depth is 8 (Image–>mode–>8bits/channel) and your colour space is RGB Color  (Image–>mode–>RGB Color). Interesting to know if it isn’t working properly!

  1. Opened up artistic filters. I ended up adding two layers: One was paint daubs and the other Sumi-e.
  2. I then opened up a hue/saturation adjustment layer and played around with the colours and presets until I found something I thought looked cool.

There you have it – my edits! Please do check out everyone else’s green edits over at Ashley’s blog! 🙂

Just so you know (because I know so many of you were dying to know :P), my photoshop class ended last night – how does 6 weeks go by so quickly? The final exam was incredibly easy as I finished in about 5 minutes – I expected it to be much harder and much longer. I guess that’s what happens when you study too hard as you partially reverted back to engineering course exam studying. haha. Even though, I did give up making notes after a while as I got distracted by making dinner and the desire to look at romantic getaways in warm places. (I blame my counsellor for that – he said that once I’m done dealing with my stuff, Mr. Bean and I should go for a vacation somewhere warm where we can spend some quality time together and not do anything. Immediately, I thought of staying in some kind of secluded resort looking over beautifully clear water in a hammock. I’ve never really had any desire to do that until now and it seems terribly appealing (especially with all the snow in the forecast!). Any suggestions of where to go that wouldn’t break the bank and doesn’t include being around 50 billion people all the time?)

Where would you go on a romantic getaway?

20 Comments

Filed under Photography

20 responses to “Edited Green Photo

  1. Your clean edit is beautiful… that’s a Christmas card right there!

  2. Your clean edit is beautiful. Now that you’re done with your Photoshop course, what do you think we’re missing in Shoot and Edit – I’d love to hear your ideas for future tutorials.

  3. Love how it turned out- & I’m sending you some warmth & sunshine from here.

  4. Oops- sorry I posted that last message from my work account. 🙂

  5. Michelle

    Sanibel Island off the gulf coast of Florida is BEAUTIFUL! It’s a perfect romantic getway, I think! Hawaii’s really pretty too – that’s where we went for our honeymoon. Honolulu is a zoo, but if you go to one of the other islands they’re a lot more quiet.

  6. Really like your first edit! The shot is really beautiful!

  7. Honestly, I loved it before, but yep, not it is WOW!

  8. I love the 2nd and sooc the edit is neat though!

  9. beautiful edit!! I’m all for heading south – someplace warm and romantic! But even if you aren’t going to go to far south, my husband and I enjoyed a very romantic honeymoon in a beautiful B & B, very cozy in front of the fireplace 🙂

    • We did something similar for our honeymoon and I loved it! My first instinct would be to do that again, but it might be good to try something new!

  10. I just remembered that my sister is actually learning photography. I will tell her to visit your site often!

    And I’m glad that God responded to your complaints. Haha..

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  11. What a gorgeous photo edit! You did a great job. I bet that taking a photoshop course must be fun!

  12. Tara

    Love your edits, I really love the first edit!!

  13. I’m also loving the clean edit! Good luck choosing a vacation spot! I’ve barely been out of my state, so I’m not going to offer any advice. 🙂

  14. ostranderblog

    I so want to take some courses. I love the edits but 2 is so crisp I can almost smell pine!
    I loved love LOVED Australia. We went there for our honeymoon:
    http://jenostrander2008.shutterfly.com/2008/164

    We rented an RV and drove from Sydney to Melbourne, then Katoomba back to Sydney. AWESOME. What time of year though? We went in January.

  15. Really like the clean edit. Great perspective.

  16. beautiful edit! praying for you and your husband.

Leave a Reply

