Slow Cooker Coconut Chicken Curry

Now that I’ve started tutoring two girls right before dinner, nothing is nicer than coming home to a meal pretty much all prepared for you. I’m not always the hugest fan of slow cookers as I find that they do a good job of making food very bland tasting, but I’ve been trying to use mine more often given that I now spend a large portion of the day out of the house. I’ve found that spicier dishes generally do better – any Mexican or Indian inspired dishes have turned out fairly tasty, including this curry.

It’s not a true curry because I made my own spice mix instead of curry powder and it probably wasn’t as spicy as some might prefer their curries but it didn’t compromise on taste in my opinion. I loved how the sauce was quite creamy even without dairy. I also added more veggies than the original recipe as that’s how I roll.

Slow Cooker Coconut Chicken Curry

3 chicken breasts, frozen
1 red pepper, seeded and quartered
1 small onion, skinned and halved
2 cloves garlic
1 can coconut milk
1 can tomato paste
1 tsp. turmeric
1 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. cardamom
3/4 tsp. ginger
1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 tsp. pepper
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. cloves
1 tsp. salt
3 carrots, chopped
1 red pepper, chopped
2 c. cauliflower florets, chopped
water
cornstarch
cilantro or parsley
Rice or Noodles

  1. Place the frozen chicken breasts at the bottom of your slow cooker. Then add carrots and chopped red pepper.
  2. Place first red pepper, onion, garlic, coconut milk, tomato paste and spices in a food processor. Process until the sauce is smooth(ish).
  3. Pour sauce over chicken and vegetables.
  4. Cook on high for 5 hours or until the chicken breast is cooked all the way through.
  5. 15 minutes before you plan to eat, steam cauliflower florets for a few minutes until they start to look cooked but aren’t completely soft yet. Then add cauliflower to the crockpot.
  6. While cauliflower is cooking, create a rue with a few tablespoons of corn starch and cold water. Add to the sauce and stir. Keep on adding more rue until the sauce reaches the desired thickness.
  7. Remove the chicken breasts from the crockpot and use two forks to shred the meat.
  8. Serve over rice or pasta and garnish with chopped cilantro or parsley.
  9. Enjoy!

What is your favourite Slow Cooker Meal? Please share a link so I check it out – I’m always looking for new ideas to try.

I’ve shared this recipe at Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays, Hearth and Soul Hop-volume 38, Gluten-Free Wednesdays and Seasonal Sundays.

18 Comments

Filed under Food

18 responses to “Slow Cooker Coconut Chicken Curry

  1. Mmmm yummy as always! When we went to Malaysia last year, everything had curry! So I didn’t eat much curry after that.. but now I want them back! =D

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Indian Fare at Tandoor Restaurant

  3. Pingback: chicken curry? | Cool Cooking Recipes

  4. Wow… looks delicious. Great job in photograph. Tantalizing!
    :)
    ~Tabitha

  5. That looks delicious. I love the pictures!

  6. this looks absolutely delicous…think iiI will give it a go..Eliza Keating

  7. Wow! This looks fantastic! I would love to make this dish. Thanks for sharing.

  8. ostranderblog

    Mmm I love Curry can’t wait to try this one out…

  9. Oh beanie baby, this looks so good and easy to make! I admit to not using my crock pot nearly enough to make lovely meals like these. I do make a lot of chicken and beef stock in it, but this really looks so easy and I plan to make more recipes starting in the morning so I have less time in the kitchen~ Thanks so much for sharing this on the hearth and soul hop! all the best, Alex

  10. This sounds amazing. I’m bookmarking and convincing Stephen to let me make it this week!

  11. Pingback: Five Healthy Meals

  12. Pingback: Dinner On The Table In No Time : Family Meal Planning and Simplifying Life With Kids

  13. Pingback: The Secret Recipe Club: Without Adornment - Slow Cooker Coconut Chicken Curry

  14. I made this delectable recipe as I was your secret partner in Group D’s SRC assignment for August! LOVELY blog and LOVELY recipe thanks! Karen

  15. Hi Bean! I made this recipe for this month’s SRC and really enjoyed it! Nice meeting you through group D and the SRC!
    Renee – Kudos Kitchen

Leave a Reply

