Does This Ever Happen to You?

You know when you’re listening to the radio halfheartedly while doing something only to have a song come on that you’ve never heard before but it speaks to you so much that you find yourself crying? I never thought that I was be one of those people who have big emotional responses to songs until it happened to me. Twice actually. I’m just glad I was at home and not driving or in a public place!

The first one is a song called “Let it Out” by Chris and Conrad. The whole song speaks to when I am right now, especially the chorus:

Let it Out, Let it Out,
Everything you’ve worked so hard to hide,
Let it Out, Let it Out,
Leave it at the cross where Jesus died,
Take off your mask – find peace at last,
For He loves you more that you could ever know.

The second song is “What it Means to be Loved” by Mark Schultz. It’s about his and his wife’s experience when they found out that their unborn baby might not live to be a year old. It’s just the perfect representation of the love parents have for their kids and what I want for my kids when we have them. I guess it just speaks to my some part heart that feels lacking.

Has a song ever affected you before? Which song is it?

6 Comments

Filed under Life, Thoughts

6 responses to “Does This Ever Happen to You?

  1. I can totally relate! I listen to K-Love in the car and sometimes a song will bring me to an emotional place that I wasn’t quite prepared for! One of my current favorites is “Your Love is a Song” by Switchfoot. I can totally get lost in that one!

  2. Oh yes, that happens to me a whole lot!

    “For He loves you more that you could ever know.” – I just love that line!

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  3. For me it’s Lead Me by Sanctus Real. I heard it when I was thinking about how much I rely on my husband for support. It’s a good song.

  4. I completely understand….I have always loved to just listen to the lyrics of some songs especially Christian music…it’s just so heart warming and just speaks to everything I stand for, everything that Christ did for me even though I don’t deserve it. Mark Shultz has some very emotional songs. When my husband was going through basic training he told me about a song by Mark Shultz called Letters from War and I listened to it and immediately started bawling…It was so emotional. That was the first time I had a song bring me to tears, and even now when I hear it, I still tear up…Funny how God can use something as common as the radio to stop us in our tracks and just listen to him.

Leave a Reply

