Tasty Gluten and Dairy Free Banana Bread

I love banana bread and most other baking with bananas.  When I realized the other day that I have never posted a banana bread recipe, I knew that had to be remedied. A few months ago someone asked me for an easy gluten free loaf recipe (and I forgot to give one to them – oops!), so now I have one that is super easy and very delicious! I managed to eat an embarrassingly large percentage of it, so I hope that you will enjoy it as much as I did!

Gluten and Dairy Free Banana Bread

1 1/3 c. brown rice flour
1/3 c. tapioca starch
1/3 c. sorghum flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. xathan gum
1/2 c. dairy free margarine
1/2 c. packed brown sugar
2 eggs
4 -5 ripe bananas

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Grease and flour a 9×5″ loaf pan.
  3. Mash up bananas. Set aside.
  4. In a medium sized bowl, combine flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt and xathan gum. Set aside.
  5. In a larger bowl, cream together margarine and brown sugar.
  6. Mix in the eggs and mashed bananas until well blended.
  7. Add flour to banana mixture and stir until just moistened.
  8. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan and bake 55 – 60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the loaf comes out clean. It’s a good idea to check more than one spot as you may hit a banana chunk and think the loaf is underdone, when it actually isn’t.
  9. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes and turn out on wire rack to complete cooling.
  10. Enjoy!

I know this recipe calls for a lot of bananas. In my opinion, the more bananas you use, the better it is!

What is your favourite banana baked good?

3 Comments

Filed under Baking

3 responses to “Tasty Gluten and Dairy Free Banana Bread

  1. Reading through the ingredients, all I can think about is how I have no idea where to buy any of them! Are they hard to come by?

    • I find most of my flours (and xathan gum) at Amaranth Health Food Market in Arbour Lake. You can also find them at Planet Organic, Community Natural Foods and other health food stores. I think you can also get rice flour at Asian markets. You can find some flours and stuff at normal grocery stores, but the selection isn’t as good as most health food stores. 🙂

  2. Hello! This recipe looks good, I love banana bread. I am currently gluten free, and considering going dairy free too. This recipe will be good to try out.

    -Katie =)

Leave a Reply

