A Few Firsts

Tonight, I ate pizza and beer for the first time in my life. To most of you gluten-eaters, this is not a huge deal, but it is to me. I haven’t had delivered pizza (that I could eat more than the toppings) since elementary school and I’ve never drank beer before.

The pizza was from Boston Pizza, which is now offering individual gluten free pizzas.

I haven't had one of this plastic tables of my own since I was probably 11.

The beer we found a while ago at the liquor store by our house and I was holding off drinking it until we had something “manly” to eat it with. Well, what’s more manly than beer and pizza? (Well, maybe beer and wings, but I haven’t found any gluten free wings yet.)

I was quite excited to try the full meal deal and see if pizza and beer was all it was cracked out to be.

After I tried it, Mr. Bean asked me how I liked it. Apparently, it was a really mild beer as my reply was: “It tastes like nothing.” Once it started to taste like something, it was okay but pretty bubbly by my non-pop drinking standards. I don’t really have much to compare it to but I probably would have it again as it wasn’t too bitter or too strong. Or perhaps I will be brave and try a different, stronger gluten-free beer. The pizza, on the other hand, I will definitely be having again. 🙂

Have you tried anything new lately?

7 Comments

Filed under Food, Life

7 responses to “A Few Firsts

  1. LOL!! You’ve never had pizza and beer? Well, I guess I don’t realize all that gluten is in.

    I actually had some pizza myself tonight – a rare but yummy treat.

    But no beer. I’m allergic to the hopps in it, so I’ve not had a beer since college. But, as crummy as it made me feel on several occasions, I don’t really miss it. When I get a craving for a beer-like drink, I will have a cider (not much like real beer to people who drink it regularly, but close enough to me!).

    • I’m a huge fan of cider as well. There is a company from BC (the province next to mine) that make amazing fruit hard and soft ciders and I will gladly trade all the gluten free beer in the world for it. 😛

  2. Donna

    It’s wonderful when you can actually order a pizza! The last time I went to Portland, OR I was able to find a GF pizza, it was great.

    I copied a recipe from http://www.glutenfreeeasily.com a few days called “Flourless, Gluten-Free Pizza , and it was very good! You might want to try it. I had a hard time believing you could make a pizza crust without flour, but it works!

  3. LOVE cider. I just hate the taste of beer, blech 😦
    I thought of you a couple of months ago. One of my friends is a bartender at Outback Steakhouse and he gave one of our other friends (who was isolating foods to figure out an allergy) a gluten free beer! I’d never even heard of such a thing 🙂

  4. I’ve never had beer and pizza together before, but then again, I’ve never been a fan of beer. I loved this post, it’s too cute!

  5. …. i was looking for the wedding renewal photos and landed here as I thought it was one of the “firsts” weddings you had photographed… it turned out.. it was “first” for me since it is the first time I saw your photo! hehe

    i love pizza!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

