Gluten Free Crusty Bread – The First Attempt

For New Years Eve, Mr. Bean and I headed over to a friend’s place to celebrate. On the menu was cheese fondue, which means French bread. However, if “normal” French bread were used, it would mean that the fondue fun for Bean would be over with the first dipping of bread. So, we needed bread that was me friendly and palatable to glutenators.

Enter the celiac web site’s recipe for Crusty Gluten Free French Bread Baguettes. Seemed easy enough – and it was! I didn’t have a baguette pan or two dowels, so I used a small bread pan lined with parchment paper. I also didn’t use the milk/egg wash – an easy way to make this bread dairy and egg free if you’re willing to sacrifice a bit of colour. Oh yes, do remember to cover the bread while it’s rising – I forgot to.

A note on the flours: since I have no idea what the exact composition of Jules Gluten Free All Purpose Flour is, I used 1 1/4 c. brown rice flour, and 1/2 c. each of tapioca and potato starch.

This bread is crunchy on the outside and soft and a bit chewy on the inside, but for my first gluten-free bread baking experience, I’d say it turned out quite well. It’s also delicious warm with a spot of jam. 😉

The bread is incredibly moist – I’m now tempted to put a pan of water in the oven for all my other baking to see what kind of difference it makes.

Would I make this bread again? Definitely – that’s why this loaf is attempt number one!

What is your favourite type of bread?

3 Comments

Filed under Baking

3 responses to “Gluten Free Crusty Bread – The First Attempt

  1. I think it looks beautiful and yummy! Congrats on your first gluten free crusty bread! Swinging in from SITS!

  2. Rae

    That looks delicious!

  3. I use that water trick for lots of my bread. Tonight I made rolls for the first time from a recipe from my MIL. They were good but not perfect.

Leave a Reply

