Snow Run

I got this idea (partially thanks to Allison) that I should go for a snow run this afternoon. I know I sound a bit crazy especially since I rarely run. However, in the last three days, I have run (at least partially through snow) to catch a bus three times. I reckoned since I’m going to be taking the bus a lot from now on (until spring comes around at any rate), I’m going to be running to catch the bus very frequently as that’s how I roll. So, I thought, maybe I should practise running, so that on Monday when I have to run for the bus, I’ll be more prepared. (Or at least I can pretend to be.)

So, I bundled myself up appropriately – as if I were going for a walk with +5-10C warmer weather, put on my hiking runners and headed out the door. So, there I was, running along happily: across the street and then started up the hill. Then the wind started blowing – holy man is it hard to breathe when the air is so bloody cold! You try to take deeper breaths, but it just hurts more. But in the name of exercise, I kept on running, puffing and panting away.

As I alluded to previously, it was blizzard-y yesterday and anywhere from a couple to 30 cm of snow was deposited on the ground, depending on where the wind blew it. Case Example:

So, here I was expecting to have to run through huge snow drifts and/or icy sidewalks, but I only encountered both a few times. Thank you people of Calgary for being so quick to shovel your sidewalks!

I eventually finished my loop, ran back down the hill and headed home to a cup of peppermint tea. (The best kind!) I ran for 15-20 minutes – all I can hope for is that my next bus run isn’t that long!

Would I do it again? Probably. As it was actually quite entertaining, I wasn’t too hot or cold and running on snow isn’t as jarring as running on bare pavement. Have you ever tried winter running? What are your experiences?

17 Comments

Filed under Life

17 responses to “Snow Run

  1. We never get snow here, unfortunately, but it sounds like fun! My sister runs in winter. I always feel like I wouldn’t be able to stand the cold on my face.

  2. You’re brave! Any time I would walk on snow back in Ohio I would end up slipping. I guess our snow just gets really packed down. But now I live somewhere where there is no snow, and that makes me happy 🙂

    *from SITS

  3. Look at that winter wonderland!!! I’m so jealous of that snow!
    (of course, I say that. one winter spent shoveling and I’d probably be swearing at the very sight of it!)

    I’m about to try my running routine again, although it’s not as cold here. And no snow. But, the few times it does get that cold here, I would imagine you’re right – breathing in the cold like that would sting! Maybe try a muffler or something so that the bitter bitter cold air would have something to kind of filter it?

    But, feel free to post more pretty snow pictures. I love them!

  4. I am impressed! It was so cold this weekend!

  5. You are amazing! I wish I had the hutzspah to do that – even walking! Now give me a dry warm walking track and I’m good to go!

    I loe the snow!

  6. Wow… I can’t run when it’s gorgeous outside (bad knees) so kudos to you doing in the freezing blizzard-yness as you put it. 🙂

    • The funny thing about running in the snow (when the walks aren’t shovelled) is that I noticed that the impact on knees was much less. And you get more of a workout as there’s more friction. 🙂

  7. Rae

    Good for you! I’ve run in the winter before, but never really in the snow. I want to try it, but it won’t be possible this winter!

  8. I’ve nominated you for an award on my blog!

  9. Awesome job on the run, your better than I. It gets cold out and I use it as my excuse not to run..lol Thanks for stopping by today it was nice to meet you 🙂

  10. Well, you’re certainly ambitious! Good for you…Listen, I also wanted to thank you soooooooo much for stop­ping by on my Spe­cial SITS Day. It’s taken me a while to get back, but I hope to see you around the blo­gos­phere again soon!

    The Sun Also Rises

  11. you were before me on SITS! happy saturday! I love it when it’s someone I know! 😉

  12. jaz

    hi…thanks for stopping by my blog! i want your snow!!! it looks wonderful. i am posting a new giveaway tomorrow for a big christmas basket so stop by and enter! i started showing the nativity figures on dec. 1st!

  13. Sweet crap, you’re a beast.

    I barely go outside as it is when it’s 30 degrees with no snow and the sun is shining.

    I’m not nearly bad-ass enough to live in Canada.

  14. I’m so glad I don’t live there. No offense. 🙂 I’m a Southern girl and we don’t do snow. I got cold just looking at the picture.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  15. AWESOME. That’s the spirit.

    I love any excuse to love up the snow!

    The sidewalks need to be clear for me to chance a run, though.

    I got five chia-pets and can’t risk breaking my arse!!!

Leave a Reply

