Hello… December?

Dear December,

How did you get here so quickly? I wasn’t expecting you for another few months. Or at least weeks. Your too prompt arrival means that the countdown ticking is getting louder and louder and I don’t think I’m quite ready for it.

I always have mixed emotions when it comes to you, December. You bring around some of my favourite weather and holidays, but I have to get through the avalanche first. Like the blizzard that supposed to come tomorrow, I’m buried in schoolwork and studying instead of snow. How I would love to have time to frolic in your December-ness!Β  Instead my advent is spent simultaneously counting the days until my last exam and until Jesus’ birth. Alas!

December, I look forward to enjoying you after the 21st – but by then you’re already almost over! You better save the best for last or I’ll be sorely disappointed.

If I had a spare moment, I would pine for you like some love-sick heroine by the window. Maybe instead, I will look through the Christmas light-lined window at the snow and then back to my studying.Β  I look forward to spending time with you more completely in 2 1/2 weeks and please, have a glass (pitcher?) of eggnog ready for me.

Bean

How do you feel about December being here already?

4 Comments

Filed under Life, Thoughts

4 responses to “Hello… December?

  1. I’ll admit, it’s tripping me out a little. I’m trying to enjoy the present, but can’t help but be excited that I only have 3 more semesters of school.

    Thanks so much for visiting on my SITS day!

  2. Just stopping over from SITS! I too am surprised December is here already. And it’s the last month in the decade! Weird.

  3. I can’t believe it is December… and at this point over a week into December… it’s craziness! 16 days until Christmas… wow.

    I need more sunshine… for sure. The dreariness is getting to me, and we don’t really get snow down here…

  4. Rae

    This is my first December in years without exams, and it is so odd to be able to have Advent be peaceful rather than stressful.

    Best wishes for your studying/exams. I hope that you are able to find little moments of peace looking out the window, even before it is all over and you can really relax.

Leave a Reply

