Gluten Free Pear Clafoutis

I wanted to make cupcakes yesterday for November’s Go Ahead Honey it’s Gluten Free challenge, however I learned that I had already missed the deadline. (Sad day!) I was still keen to bake something, so I thought that I would try something new from one of my newer cookbooks: Gluten Free Gourmet Desserts and Baked Goods. (Or you can see a Google Book Copy.) Everything seriously looks so delicious in this book – I bought it because of the pictures, not the recipes. It also taught me that gourmet == french cuisine. I must live under a rock as I didn’t know that before.

One delightful looking picture caught my interest: something called Pear Clafoutis. I had no idea what clafoutis was – the author gives it the translation of fruit cobbler. Wikipedia gives a better answer:

Clafoutis is a baked French dessert that is typically made by baking fresh fruit (traditionally cherries) and a batter, halfway between a Yorkshire pudding/pancake batter and a custard [1], in a baking dish. – Wikipedia

And what can I say? Regardless of how one describes it, it was delicious. And very simple!

Gluten Free Pear Clafoutis

2/3 c. each of almond flour, brown sugar and rice flour
3 eggs
1 c. rice milk (I used Ryza)
3 pears, peeled and sliced
Sprinkle of cinnamon

  1. Preheat oven to 400C.
  2. Oil a glass or earthenware cake or loaf pan. (I used a glass loaf pan)
  3. Combine almonds, sugar and rice flour in a bowl.
  4. Add eggs.
  5. Mix in rice milk, a little at a time.
  6. Fold fruit into batter.
  7. Pour into prepared pan and sprinkle cinnamon on top.
  8. Bake for 30-45 minutes until set.

I’m not sure if you’re supposed to eat it warm or cold, but both tasted good!

10 Comments

Filed under Baking

10 responses to “Gluten Free Pear Clafoutis

  1. Yum! That looks incredible!

  2. Rae

    That looks so delicious, but for some reason I am still quite intimidated by gluten free recipes.

  3. YUM! I’ve been thinking about trying to find a gluten free cobbler since my husband was recently diagnosed with Celiac. Glad I found your blog through SITS!

  4. He was diagnosed at the end of Sept., so almost exactly 2 months ago. We’ve been eating a lot of soup since then, haha.

  5. Hello fellow SITSta! I need your help!

    Could you vote for me in Iron Cupcake?

    (I am campaigning for votes….because I put a lot of time and detail into my cupcake)

    I am currently behind The Baker’s Remix……boo..L

    If there is anything I can do for you in the future don’t hesitate to ask! (When I say this I am completely serious!)

    Here is the link: http://mamanandgourmand.blogspot.com/2009/11/please-vote-for-me-iron-cupcake.html

  6. Hi, how are you. I just stopped in to see wha’ts cooking.. I see plenty. Hope you have a wonderful holiday season. Take good care and keep blogging. I love your stuff.

    Keri
    http://www.samwich365.com

  7. This looks incredible!!! I’m definitely making this – yummy!

    And I’ll pass it off to our receptionist who is allergic to wheat – I’m sure she’ll love it too!

  8. Sounds yummy, though hard to pronounce!

  9. My family loved this–thanks for the inspiration and Happy SRC Reveal Day!

  10. Pingback: SECRET RECIPE CLUB: GLUTEN-FREE & VEGAN RASPBERRY BARS | Bewitching Kitchen

Leave a Reply

