Vancouver Island in November

This past weekend was reading break (where we had more than 4 days off!), so Heather and I headed out to Vancouver Island. I know, you must be thinking that I’m crazy because it appears that I don’t travel anywhere else. I guess I don’t, but I love Vancouver Island and our three days away didn’t disappoint!

We got to witness so many fantastic waves that had I watched every good wave show we saw, I would have done nothing else.

We visited an old growth forest and there were pumpkins… all along the side of the road. It was quite random but very happy.

We went for tea at The Empress Hotel in Victoria. If you have a chance and have money, I highly recommend it because look at all the (gluten free!) goodies that you get:

They have the most delicious lemon curd. Ever. Even if you dislike lemons, you’ll like it. It’s that good.

And for you gluten-a-tors, this is the spread you get:

Just a word of warning – when you’re on vacation, don’t comment that you’ve had surprisingly good weather for two days in a row because it will rain for the rest of the time and you’ll find out that your rental car has a tendency to hydroplane while it’s pouring in the dark. Not that it happened to us.

What did you do this weekend?

10 Comments

Filed under Life, Photography

10 responses to “Vancouver Island in November

  1. Michelle

    I love tea at the Empress! Your gluten-free tea looks really yummy – maybe next time I splurge I’ll go gluten-free as well. 🙂

    Tea at the Fairmont Banff Springs is nice, too. It’s pretty much the same menu, but it has a beautiful view of the mountains. Mom and I went last Christmas, and it was magical.

  2. I’m glad you stopped by, I love your blog and you take amazing pictures. Love that tree with the icicles. You have some really yummy cup cake recipes.

  3. Stopping by from SITS! I love all the pix of Vancouver Island, beautiful!

  4. That hotel knows how to put out a good spread of food – it all looks SO delicious!

    You are quite the photographer – the photos of Vancouver Island are beautiful! Wish I could visit it someday!

  5. Wow. GF High tea. That’s an idea for YYC.

  6. Rae

    I can see why you always go to the same spot. It is so good that you got the chance to recupe at this point in the semester!

  7. Beautiful pictures and wonderful food! YUM! Just stopping by from SITS 🙂

    My personal blog:
    http://www.finewire.blogspot.com

  8. wow, those desserts look awesome!

    Glad you had a great time!

  9. Pingback: Another Post for the British Columbia Tourism Board « Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

