Pumpkin Delights Part 1

I hope everyone had a Happy Thanksgiving, or at least a good Monday. My lab proposal is in, my latest quiz is done (Anyone remember non-homogenous ODEs – even though I think that I did that part wrong – whoops!) and I’m learning how to simulate petrochemical processes for our propylene plant, so life’s okay.

Anyways, Mr. Bean was out in Saskatchewan visiting his ailing grandpa over the weekend, so I thought that I would visit my parent’s church after watching this guy get baptized* on Sunday. It just so happened that they were having a potluck lunch to celebrate thanksgiving, so I thought that I would take the opportunity to pawn off a bit of baking – I’m really quite keen to give my baking to other people as 24 cupcakes/muffins/etc. isn’t very attractive on my waistline. I’m sure you’ll agree.

I wanted to try something a bit different from the usual cupcake but would be slightly classier than a muffin. I chose to make Pumpkin Streusel Muffins based on this recipe. Apparently, they didn’t disappoint because they disappeared pretty quickly.

Gluten Free Pumpkin Streusel Muffins

3/4 c. margarine, melted and slightly cooled
1 1/8 c.  canned solid-pack pumpkin
3/4 c. sour cream
4 large eggs
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
2 c. brown rice flours
1/2 c. each potato and tapioca starch
1 1/2 tsp. xathan gum
3 tsp. baking powder
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

3/4 tsp. ground ginger
heaping 1/4 tsp. cloves
1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
3/4 tsp. salt
1/2 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. white sugar 

Streusel Topping (Note: This made WAY too much streusel – 1/2 or 1/3 of this would work just as well.)
1/4 c. margarine, softened
1/2 c. sugar
1/4 c. flour
pinch salt
1 tsp. cinnamon

  1. Preheat oven to 400F and line 18+ muffins cups with liners.
  2. Combine all streusel ingredients in medium bowl and rub the margarine in until the mixture is somewhat crumbly. Set aside.
  3. In larger bowl, combine melted margarine, pumpkin, sour cream, eggs and vanilla and whisk until smooth.
  4. Sift together flours, xathan gum, baking powder, spices and salt into a large bowl.
  5. Stir sugars into flour mixture.
  6. Add pumpkin mixture to flour mixture and stir until just combined.
  7. Spoon into muffin tins and sprinkle streusel on top.
  8. Bake muffins for about 16 minutes or until a tester inserted into the centre of the muffins comes out clean.
  9. Let muffins cool in pan for 5 minutes to set topping, then turn out onto a wire rack to cool.
  10. Enjoy!

DSC_2221-a

What is your favourite pumpkin delight?

*Holy man am I smitten by Malachi. I’ve been on somewhat of a baby obsess lately as there are so many cute babies everywhere! Rest assured that I am not pregnant, despite how much old ladies at church say how good babies look on me.

10 Comments

Filed under Baking

10 responses to “Pumpkin Delights Part 1

  1. good morning from sits-looks delicious! I love my best friends pumpkin roll she makes every fall!

  2. Rae

    Yum! I love pumpkin/squash delights but haven’t made any yet this season (other than soup). I will have to get right on that after we move.

    And I know what you mean about the babies. I was starting to get worried that about my eyes since all of the babies were so cute (and you know that some babies are just ugly) but thankfully I saw an ugly baby recently so I know that I am still realistic, I’ve just really been surrounded by cuteness. 😉

  3. This looks lovely! And, the photo is absolutely gorgeous =D.

  4. Mmm, those muffins sound so delicious! I’d have to say that my favorite pumpkin treats are pumpkin pie and pumpkin lattes. 🙂 They get me in the mood for fall every time!

  5. Sounds delish!!! =D I love anything pumpkin!!

    Thanks for visiting me on my SITS day!!

  6. Courtney & Indiana

    Okay, so we are in the process of making these muffins now. We have no allergies but tried your muffins at church and LOVED THEM. Cant wait to have them again. We finally got all the ingredients and are beginning our voyage into Gluten Free cooking. Here we go.

  7. Courtney & Indiana

    Okay they are so amazing. I LOVE THEM. GREAT RECIPE CHRISTINE!

  8. Surprise!! I made your muffins for Secret Recipe Club! They were AWESOME! Thanks for sharing!

  9. Pingback: Pumpkin Streusel Muffins | Flying on Jess Fuel

Leave a Reply

