Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free August: Chill Out

gahigf

This month’s Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free Challenge is hosted by the lovely Kim Hopkins aka The Food Allergy Coach and she chose the theme “Chill Out.” I was a bit uncertain as to what I wanted to make given that I’ve made lots of salads already and don’t have either a blender or an ice cream maker to easily make homemade ice cream, so I procrastinated until today. Fortunately, today was quite warm, so that was inspiration enough to make something cold!

So what did I decide to make? A gluten and dairy free parfait – I got the idea while looking through the “frozen desserts” section of the Joy of Cooking.

Gluten and Dairy Free Fruity Parfait

Note: You could make the ice cream/sorbet yourself if you have the appropriate equipment. I used So Delicious Vanilla Bean Coconut Milk Ice Cream and Natural Choice Mango Sorbet bought from my local health food store.

Dairy Free Ice Cream/Sorbet in at least two different flavours
Blueberries, washed
Strawberries, chopped and soaked in lemoncello (or your favourite liqueur)
Raw Cashews, chopped

  1. In chilled wine glasses (or a parfait glass if you happen to own some) layer the ingredients like so:
  • 1 scoop coconut ice cream
  • Handful of blueberries
  • 2 scoops of mango sorbet
  • Handful of chopped cashews
  • 2 scoops of coconut ice cream
  • Handful of strawberries

If not eating right away, put in freezer until ready to consume, up to 2 hours.

DSC_1818

DSC_1830

If you’d like, you could use any other fruit, other ice creams, other nuts and/or other sauces like chocolate, caramel, etc.

Enjoy!

Don’t forget that my giveaway for a copy of the Joy of Cooking ends this Sunday!

8 Comments

Filed under Food

8 responses to “Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free August: Chill Out

  1. hennie

    I’ll bet that is as delicious to eat as it is gorgeous to look at! Thanks for sharing!

  2. edie

    I love Purely Decadent Coconut Milk ice cream! Are you in Canada? Because when I saw them up there, I saw them under the So Delicious brand. Same packaging, same deliciousness, different name. I’m looking forward to making these parfaits.

  3. Rae

    That sounds/looks delicious.

  4. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free August: Chill Out « Without Adornment [withoutadornment.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

  5. San

    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest!

    What an awesome looking recipe! Looks delicious!

  6. Usually I think “dietary restriction” and think “yuck” but you make me think “Yum!”. 🙂

  7. That looks delicious! Thanks for sharing.

    Just stopping by from SITS wishing you a great week!

  8. Yummy looking 🙂

    Dropping by from SITS!

Leave a Reply

