Oh, I Love Fresh Produce

Have you ever been to a farmer’s market? I find them to be quite the novelty as I live in Alberta, where we have fresh produce MAYBE 3 months out of the year and it is still questionable whether or not some of it is grown in greenhouses. For the record, I am envious of people who live on the west coast, where plants never die and fruits are grown all year round. Anyways, I headed over to our friendly neighbourhood farmer’s market this afternoon to pick up some, oh so delicious and Albertan grown produce.

If you have the chance to go to such a market, it’s highly recommended. Just don’t forget your wallet at home the first time you go. Not that I know of anyone who has done that.

DSC_1794

I picked up some beets, carrots, zucchini and an onion for veggies. I love beans, but I already have free ones from my parent’s garden.

DSC_1801

I also got some blueberries, blackberries and nectarines.

DSC_1802

Aren’t the nectarine’s happy?

I’m really looking forward to going to Vancouver Island in a week – so much good food. Yum. Now that I’ve made myself really hungry, I should go and make dinner.

What is your favourite fruit or vegetable?

If you haven’t already, do enter my Joy of Cooking cookbook giveaway!

7 Comments

Filed under Food, Photography

7 responses to “Oh, I Love Fresh Produce

  1. i hit our Farmers Market about 3-4 times a week in season.

    Raven
    http://cherokeebydesign.wordpress.com/

  2. Dee

    I love fruits and veg. When I was a little girl my mother would always send a stick of carrot for lunch.

    Hard to name my favourite fruit but since it is the season I am adoring guavas.

  3. I’ve never been to a farmers market but I bet it’s great to have fresh fruits and vegetables. A few of my favorite fruits and vegetables are strawberries, grapes, plums, peaches, celery, and broccoli.

  4. Thanks for stopping by my Fabulous Candles blog.

  5. I love a farmer’s market. But, I’m in the south and we get good produce most of the year.
    Stopped by from SITS.

  6. Thanks for stopping by my blog!! I need to visit the farmer’s markets more often. I love lots of fruits and veggies but my favorite would have to be watermelon!

  7. Bill Bartmann

    Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read…:)

    -Bill-Bartmann

Leave a Reply

